Martin Luther King, Jr.

January 19, 2009

Today is an honorable day as we remember the dream and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  As my daughter read the book, my brother Martin, she was amazed to even think that skin color made a difference.  I am thankful that our nation is changing, although I’m still a realist in knowing that people are still self-centered and judgmental.

Christine King Farris shares her memories of her younger brother through the book, my brother Martin.  I love the way Christine shares stories of practical jokes and childhood happenings that she shared with her brother.  For children, the book allows them to connect with Dr. King.  They can visualize that he was a “real” person with ambitions and a view for a better world. 

Savorings for reading and in writing for my brother, Martin:

  • Visualizing
  • Poetic narrative
  • Historical connection – kids can compare/contrast events during history to current events.
  • Purpose – so many of our students do not write with a purpose.  Dr. King’s dream had a purpose and so did Christine by sharing her stories about her brother. 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers