SOLSC: Sunrise

Driving down the road,

I couldn’t help notice

the beauty spread before me.

The sky was brushed with pinks,

bubble gum, magenta swirled together.

White clouds pillowed above with

a silhouette of trees awakening in the light.

The beauty of the morning refreshed my soul,

lifted my spirits, and reminded me to notice.

11 Responses to SOLSC: Sunrise

  1. Beautiful. Whenever I see a beautiful sky, I think of two things. The first was when a college friend said, see that beautiful sunset. It was created for us to see. What if we are the only ones seeing it and it was made just for us. The other thing I think of is my mom who will say, oh Aidan must be playing with watercolors in heaven again. :). Thank you for your beautiful description, photograph and prompts of these memories of mine. :)

  2. Linda says:

    A beautiful photo and poem! I especially love “a silhouette of trees awakening in the light” such vivid imagery!

  3. Tammy says:

    What a beautiful photo. I missed it as I stayed home today and slept in. Nice poem too- may all the mornings refresh your soul.

  4. Judy C. says:

    What a great way to start your day! God created that beautiful picture and you described it perfectly for the rest of us to enjoy..

  5. Wow. The picture and your description are the perfect pairing! I read your poem and decided to try to write my slice for today in poetry form as well. Though mine is much less appealing if you visualize.

  6. Linda Baie says:

    Well you know I like those clouds, Mary Helen. What a gorgeous photo and poem. I love the bubble gum pink & magenta swirling…

  7. the other ruth says:

    Simply lovely.

  8. Tam says:

    Oh, yes. The words “brushed with pink, bubble gum, magenta swirled together” are my favorite words here. You definitely know how to describe nature’s beauty.

  9. Your word choice is powerful. The picture was in my mind even without the photograph.

  10. Mandy Chock says:

    “The beauty of the morning refreshed my soul” makes me want to take a deep breath and inhale the cold, crisp air. love it!

  11. Ruth says:

    “reminded me to notice”

    I like those words together. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

