SOLSC: Flip Flops

My flip-flops were calling my name this morning. I could hear them, “MH, we are the shoe for you today. Our color matches your top perfectly and our cushion is fabulous. You really should wear us today.”

It’s March 13 and it’s 68 degrees here in Indiana, which feels absolutely delicious!

I noticed my coworkers have been wearing flip-flops, and my daughter has been begging to wear hers. I guess flip-flops kind of symbolize spring and warm weather. They add a new step to the day.

So I caved in and wore them. It was delightful!

(And it had nothing to do with the fact that my knee-high tights were still in the laundry from last night. You know the ones that I wear with my shoes all the time. Naaa, convenience of wearing the flip-flops wouldn’t have ever entered my mind. :p)

12 Responses to SOLSC: Flip Flops

  1. CBethM says:

    At nearly 6 PM, it’s a lovely 76 degrees outside where I am. It was warm enough for my flip-flops before I left the house, so I wore them.

    I’m right there with you – flip-flops definitely represent spring’s arrival here in PA. The high school students might wear tees and shorts all winter, but they don’t break out the flip-flops until it’s warm enough for daffodils to start sprouting. (Incidentally, my daffodils are soon going to BLOOM already!)

  2. the other ruth says:

    Your pink flip flops are also just plain fun! Glad you got to wear them today–kind of rare at this time of year in Indiana!

  3. Tam says:

    I guess you can consider this a day of flip flop celebrations. It is an unusual winter and spring. Celebrate. I like your flips talking!!!

  4. elsie says:

    Too cute! I’m glad you listened to the call of the flip-flops.

  5. Jessica says:

    I love your flip flops talking! Mine were talking too but I had to ignore for today.

  6. The weather has been amazing! Capri pants and sandals are calling my name but I have a feeling my pants may be on the tight side. :)

  7. zeaserspalace says:

    Love it…my Facebook post this morning was “flip flops make me happy,” so I can totally relate. You are in good company!

  8. Ruth says:

    Yippee for small indulgences. :)

  9. Tara says:

    I went stockingless today – not quite as carefree as flip flops, but close!

  10. Linda Baie says:

    I love leaving the house without a coat! Hurrah for warm, warm days! Your flip flops are so cute!

  11. Bethany Hall says:

    Dear Mrs. Gensch,
    This is Mrs. Hall’s Class! We love reading your posts! We especially love the posts you have about books, but today we fell in love with your post on Flip Flops! It made us laugh, and made Mrs. Hall miss you, dearly:)!
    We liked the way you used expression through punctuation and your writer’s voice. We also think your flip flops are cool! Mrs. Hall says she remembers those flip flops, she has been wearing hers for quite sometime.
    Also, the picture of your flip flops matched the main idea of your post, that was a great idea to take a picture of your flip flops!
    Love,
    Mrs. Hall’s Class

    ps… we noticed several “golden lines” in your post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

