SOLC: Duh, Mrs. G

April 24, 2012

I work with a fourth grader, Jay, who is on the Autism Spectrum. He is high functioning in some ways and socially challenged in other ways. He reminds me of Dustan Hoffman in Rainman. Each day is an interesting experience.

Yesterday, I began our Monday morning conversation with the expected question, “So what did you do over the weekend?”

Jay answered, “Nothing much.” Silence followed and so I prodded some more, practicing conversation with him, trying to create a more open ended response.

“What did you do? What do you mean by ‘nothing much’?” I said hopefully.

Jay stopped, turned to face me, and totally serious said, “It means…I didn’t do anything.” Abruptly, he turned and kept walking as if to say, “Duh, Mrs. G.”


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers