SOL: Stories

Yesterday I posted the below picture with caption on Facebook:

I miss this kid. I don’t just miss his presence. I miss his stories.

I miss my kid!

His sister misses his stories. They rode to high school daily and stories were shared, laughed over. His brother misses his stories. He would listen in admiration of his older brother. He would laugh and be surrounded with brotherly love through the connection of stories.

Wesley loves to tell stories. He is dramatic and I crack up hearing them. He engages his audience and wants a response. If I missed one of his baseball games, I didn’t have to worry. He would give me the play-by-play when he got home. Something funny at school? Wesley exaggerated the voices and mannerisms to spice it up. He knows how to tell stories. Unknowingly, Wesley has wrapped his family up with connections, love, and memories through his stories.

I can’t wait until Wes comes home. He’ll have a story to share.

11 Responses to SOL: Stories

  1. Thank you for sharing this! My 8 year old loves to tell stories and get people to laugh and interact with his stories. He is still learning when it is and isn’t appropriate, but your post reminds me to not get frustrated with him. Because some day I’ll miss it!

  2. Stories are a piece of our hearts. I do not wonder why you miss him and his stories.

  3. Tam says:

    Yes, more stories. So fortunate to have your son willing to share with you.

  4. elsie says:

    He will have many stories to tell when he comes home. So much love expressed in this post.

  5. Jaana says:

    Maybe my daughter will have a story to tell when she comes home this weekend….She was my inspiration for starting my blog (because I loved what she wrote on her blog).

  6. Though I haven’t ever heard one you have me missing his stories, too.

  7. newtreemom says:

    Oh, the things we miss when they are away! My daughter was home this past weekend for the first time since she moved to college in August.
    Have a wonderful visit with stories for everyone when he comes home again!

  8. Tammy says:

    I know how you feel. I miss my kids so much sometimes. Luckily they are close enough to see on a few weekends. I hope he is home soon!

  9. It’s so hard to rearrange lives when things change, isn’t it? I remember when we were missing our son, and we have just the daughter home; the house was very quiet. We had to learn to make different kinds of noise. Thanks for sharing this sweet post about your son, Mary Helen.

  10. His stories live in your hearts. There is not empty space there were his stories were, just longing added on top of the layers of stories. What a clever way to end your slice, with promise of new stories to wrap around those remembered stories! I have no doubt that he carries plenty of stories from each of you in his heart as well!

  11. Betsy says:

    I hope your story well can be filled soon. Storytelling with close family always amazes me because it feels like they were never gone, you just jump right back into telling stories. I wish the same for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

