Celebrating in Draft Form {Celebrate}

I am celebrating the moment- choosing to write before doing the laundry.:) I have been gathering thoughts and ideas, but haven’t posted for a while. Pausing to write is good! I choose to accept the draft of my thoughts, not perfecting a revised piece this morning.

20131207-093543.jpg

The past two weeks have been busier than normal. I am celebrating the 32 family members who celebrated Thanksgiving together for the first time in 8 years. After the traditional Thanksgiving day meal, lots of stories were shared of present happenings and past sibling interactions. My six lasagnas were a hit on Friday, a culinary triumph for me.

Tuesday, our school hosted Family Night. Thanks to my promotion team, 144 parents, children, grandparents and siblings engaged in literacy activities. To meet state requirements, I shared how Title I supports our reading program. Our superintendent sat in the front row of a session as a guardian to his grandson who attends our school. Afterwards, he complimented me in front of my principal. “You are really special, Mary Helen!” We’re the first words he said. I will hold that conversation in my heart for many years!

Our Christmas tree is decorated. This year, I was able to get every crocheted ornament on. My husband mentioned how he appreciates the handmade art my grandmother created for us each year. From 1980 until the year of her passing in 2000, Grandma Kessler crocheted ornaments for each member in the family. Having ten children of her own, our family grew to 114 by 1999. nightly, she would sit and needle the thread into tiny, intricate designs. The individual ornaments hold stories of Christmases past. The lights, sparkle, and music add joy to my heart.

20131207-091237.jpg

The view of our tree from my favorite writing spot!
Love it!

Our oldest son called last night. I have talked or texted with him daily this week, Final projects are due and exams are next week. He has called home for reassurance, love, and support. Over Thanksgiving, daily he would hug me and say he just loved being home. Home, his comfort. Home, his relaxation. Home, his belonging.

6 Responses to Celebrating in Draft Form {Celebrate}

  1. elsie says:

    Truly special celebrations to hold in your heart! You are special Mary Helen, I’ll will try to remind you of this when I see you at All Write next year. :-)
    Six lasagnas! Holy cow! What a culinary feat you accomplished! That’s a lot of pasta!
    Those ornaments are incredible, what a special memory for each one you put up. Gotta love the son who has strong roots in this loving family. Wonderful celebrations and I’m so glad you wrote before laundry. :-)

  2. Leigh Anne says:

    Lots to celebrate this week Mary Helen. Isn’t it wonderful to hear compliments! Some days we just need to hear what we are doing is appreciated! Good for you. I love your tree. Handmade gifts are so special. Cathy wrote about traditions carrying us forward. I am sure these ornaments will do just that for you and your family. Have a great week!

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I’m glad you waited for a while, Mary Helen. It’s terrific to hear all your good news of celebration. Your grandmother was quite something to create all those special ornaments! I love the stories from our trees! Hope you continue to have happy holiday times!

  4. @Deb_Frazier says:

    Your post feels like a warm hug, happy holidays!

  5. Ramona says:

    There’s a fabulous thread connecting all your thoughts – family! Isn’t it fun when our children come home and cherish the time we have together? I love the memories that come as we decorate the tree each year.

  6. Tara says:

    A beautiful tree…and what a special Thanksgiving you’ve had.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

