Downsizing {SOL}

Let me introduce you to the work I have been doing the past several days.

20140128-203438.jpg
I have been downsizing. Yep, I have been reviewing binders, folders, lessons so neatly tucked away in file cabinets and shelves. Why? You ask. Besides the fact that I have collected lessons and articles and notes for the past twenty years. Besides the fact that my job description has changed the past few years. The fact is I have to! You see our current school building is old and has been renovated and repaired many times. It is now time for a new building. (Rejoice! Yippee! :)) That’s how I felt – excited about a new place, a more modern atmosphere, updates all around. That’s how I felt … Until I learned that my teaching space would be reduced greatly in the new building. Without boring you with details, I will say that I am found peace in my anticipated new school. I will find places for my books AND the Title I resources. I just have to make adjustments.

20140128-204443.jpg

I am making space by downsizing materials. I actually have been enjoying going through lessons, pulling double sets of handouts or duplicate lessons. I have learned to rely on my computer files and don’t have to have a paper copy. And transparencies- please, so ancient (I can’t believe I having just verbalized my thinking). By downsizing, I am being proactive (my one little word for the year). I am freeing up space for the important things – my books!!!

20140128-204929.jpg

Thank you, snow, for the extra time off. I have been working diligently, downsizing. :)

7 Responses to Downsizing {SOL}

  1. blkdrama says:

    Downsizing. Healthy!!!! A new school, YES!!!!!

  2. elsie says:

    It’s tough to downsize, but so necessary. At least the computer makes it easier to store ideas (if only I can remember where I filed them). However, downsizing book collections just can’t happen. Good luck with this move.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I did it when I moved out of the classroom, Mary Helen, 5 file cabinets down to two! I have more books, but they are much more manageable. It was tough getting rid of lessons, but now I’m finding that when I “still” come across something I haven’t “worn” in a few years, out it goes! Notice that “worn”-same for clothes. Moving was very good for me, and it will be for you too, as you said, “freeing”. The snow days are a blessing, I’m sure!

  4. Tara Smith says:

    There’s something very liberating about this, Mary Helen. I moved all my files into google docs, and rally cleaned out my office and classroom last summer – whew! It’s a lot of work, but worth it, right?!

  5. Ramona says:

    I love looking at the books on the shelves, makes me want to pop in and sit a spell with a book or two. There are definitely some professional books would beg for a cup of tea and some conversation!

  6. Terje says:

    I cheer to you. Sorting and downsizing is such a hard task. But so worth it.

  7. Tam says:

    Good for you, Mary Helen. I’ve been doing the same. It’s a wonder what snow, cold, and wind can do that’s good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

