Fall is Here!

Fall is definitely here with its falling leaves and chilly mornings.  Another sensory delight for readers is Fall is Here!  I Love It! by Elaine W. Good. 

Fall Is Here !Elaine created a set of vignettes about life on the farm told through the eyes of a young child.  She creates a tingling of sensory descriptions through sights, colors, tastes, smells, and touch.  You can connect this book with social studies, the cycle of harvest, ending with the Thanksgiving holiday.

 Savorings for reading and in writing for Fall is Here!  I Love It!:

  • Elaine Good closes each vignette with a repeating line – “Fall is here!  I love it!”
  • Specific vocabulary for the farm – corn stalks, silo, tractor
  • Vivid Verbs – snort and snuffle
  • Personification – “The leaves dance in the wind, spinning on thie toes as they fall to the ground.”
  • Close echo – “Pumpkins!  Pumpkins!  Pumpkins!”
3 Responses to Fall is Here!

  1. Listen, Girl! You know how I just HAVE to have every book. You are going to make me poor!!!! Keep up the great work!

  2. MaryHelen says:

    Thanks, Kathy. I often look for the books that are in my library, as in the case of Fall is Here! I Love it! Many times though, I look through the Scholastic Book orders. Scholastic features so many great books at an affordable price. Plus, I mention it to the students . I want them to be able to buy books to have at home. One teacher that I know tries to read some of the books featured in the Scholastic Book Order to create excitement. For example, the book Leaves I found just this fall in one of the book orders. I hope you enjoy the books!

  3. […] Fall is Here:  I Love It by Elaine Good […]

Leave a Reply

