Mama’s Stories

I love the voice of the child and her mother in the book Tell Me a Story, MamaAngela Johnson penned a narrative in the structure of  a conversation between mother and daughter.   David Soman paints the bed time setting as the background of the conversation.  True in our home, my children often share information about their day or ask questions that bring insight into their curious minds.

The book warms my heart a I see a reflection of my family.  Being mischievous as a youngster, my husband (not me)  often shares memories in his life that conjures much laughter.  My kids soak it up.  The past week, our oldest, Wes, began sharing the antics of each new teacher he has this trimester.  I couldn’t help laughing, but it made me wonder what stories my students were sharing about me.

Family stories – they’re the best.  Tell Me a Story, Mama is a great way to connect to oral story telling in your class.  I also believe it’s an excellent text to share with your families to promote story telling at home.

Savorings for reading and in writing for Tell Me a Story, Mama:

  • Two Font Types – supporting the back and forth conversation
  • Repeating Structure
  • Flashback – favorite stories of the mother’s childhood
  • Questions
  • Voice – the young girl’s and the mother’s
  • Inferencing – difficult economic times; responsibility of the older sibling
One Response to Mama’s Stories

  1. Mike says:

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

Leave a Reply

