Slice of Life 6: Substitute

Slice of Life Challenge hosted by TwoWritingTeachers

Today I subbed in Mrs. B’s class again, administering the ISTEP.  I’m so thankful I’m with kids I have a relationship with.  Being a literacy coach in the same school for six years, I’ve had the privilege of watching them grow over the years.  Oh, trust me, I’m not every students’ favorite teacher but at least we connect.

Carl Anderson talks about conferencing as “having a conversation” with a child.  I like that.  I like listening to their thoughts and building on their strengths.  I like the workshop approach.   The workshop approach supports community, connecting, and caring.

And caring leads to the poem I found this week for Poetry Friday.  My son’s teacher introduced it to me.  Tim brought a packet of four poems from the same book.  Each kid has to memorize one for a class performance later this month.

I think the poem fits for school, especially my situation today.  The selection is from a collection of poems by Norah Smaridge, taken from her book School is Not a Missile Range.  The poem is entitled “Be Nice!”  The poem highlights acting appropriately with a substitute.  It’s definitely a bucket filling gesture.  Here are the first two lines:

If there’s a substitute today

Please see she has a happy stay.


4 Responses to Slice of Life 6: Substitute

  1. snowflakes6 says:

    I will have to look for that poem.
    I am a sub and while I love being in lots of different rooms and areas I can’t wait to have a class of my own. I’m glad you had a good day.

  2. Carrie F. says:

    Thanks for the Carl Anderson quote about conferencing! I just may have to add that to my classes when we workshop later this term.

    -Carrie F.

  3. Lisa says:

    Sounds like a good poem. I am thinking of having my class memorize poems too.

    • MaryHelen says:

      Mrs. N has had them memorize a stanza of poems about once a month. She always includes some type of celebration or performance. My daughter did it last year with her as well. Both kids like it. Adults are usually impressed. She allows for some time in class, but a letter is sent home to the parents as part of the student’s homework for three weeks. They performed the book, This is a Dream, last month. I hope it goes well for you.

Leave a Reply

