Slice of Life 7: Where did the Gray Come From?

Slice of Life Challenge hosted by Twowritingteachers

My daughter, knowing I love great deals, piped up, “Hey Mom, Walgreen’s has hair coloring on special?”

“What’s that suppose to mean?” I questioned accusingly.

“Oh nothing, Mom.  I just thought you’d like to know.  You know – to hide something.”

I had noticed lately the obnoxious, even-returning gray hairs sneaking out of their covering.  On Monday, a few strands caught my eye.  On Tuesday, some more made their appearance.  Today, the old white brigade came out in full force.  How do they multiply over night?  I think I hear Clairol Hair Coloring calling my name.

9 Responses to Slice of Life 7: Where did the Gray Come From?

  1. literacyspark says:

    ugh! I don’t even know what my real hair color looks like. I started coloring years ago and never went back. I didn’t realize how many grays I had until people asked me if I had highlights. The gray hair colors a shade lighter than the others. Oh well, I guess it’s cheaper that way.

  2. Tracey says:

    I guess you could look at your gray hair as tiny badges of courage, each one…

    or NOT!

    The dialog in your slice brings it home.

  3. KT says:

    I love those oh-so-innocent comments from kids 🙂

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Next, you know, is the eyebrows. My sisters and I have medium blonde hair and we’ve all started getting highlights so as to disguise the gray. So far, so good.

    Elizabeth
    http://peninkpaper.blogspot.com/

  5. Kimberly says:

    Leave it to children to always be honest!

  6. Lee says:

    My gray can’t come in fast enough. In the meantime I went and got some crazy “fire” red and bright yellow put in mine yesterday to mix it up a bit!

  7. Lynnelle says:

    Don’t you love those “honest” comments from kids! Hope you had a great weekend!

  8. nani says:

    Bah. Gray, schmay! I went gray my first year of teaching, at 22. Coincidence? I think not! I show my grays proudly.

  9. Yes, I’ve noticed that too! How they seem to multiply all of a sudden! Is it stress? Or just that we notice them all of a sudden? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

