Slice of Life 8: Reflection

Slice of Life Challenge hosted by TwoWritingTeachers

Today, I read a SOL called Write Your Heart that Lynelle posted on her blog A Writer’s Life.  It sparked an idea for my Slice of Life today. (Thank you, Lynelle for your comment).

I have been reflecting so much more this week since I have begun the SOL Challenge.  I enjoy writing stories and my thoughts; I want to hold the moments for my family and students.  By nature, I am reflective.  I notice my surroundings and comment in my head.  This SOL challenge has pushed me to write those thoughts down more often.

Why is it that we become so busy and distracted to write?  Just like anything, planning is the key.  Making time in my day to write:   to capture my thoughts, to hold my wishes, to write what is important to me.  Isn’t that what we ask our students to do?

6 Responses to Slice of Life 8: Reflection

  1. Cathy says:

    I think what’s so cool about this slice of life challenge is not only the growth I’ll see in my own writing, but also being able to come alongside my writers and say, “As a writer, this is what I do…” I’m most excited about that!

  2. Lynnelle says:

    So glad that you enjoyed my slice! I enjoyed yours too. Have a great week; hoping lots of reflection takes place!!

  3. Becky says:

    I agree. When we practice what we ask of our students, we get a new perspective, and a valuable one.

  4. blkdrama says:

    Good to see you writing here and yes, it’s all about planning and I would add, energy
    Bonnie

  5. Yes — time to write. Difficult at times, but so important. Thanks for reminding me to make space for my writing.
    Kevin

  6. girlgriot says:

    You’re so right: we need to give ourselves the time to write. It’s one of the things I love about this challenge. I may not always be able to post every single day, but this challenge pushes me to think about writing, to start forming ideas in my head even before I get to the pen and paper, pushes me to look at things that happen around me and think of how I would write the story. I really like that.

Leave a Reply

