Slice of Life 15: Noticing the Little Things

Slice of Life Challenge Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

I’m sitting in the hotel lobby right now using the complimentary guest computer.  I was beginning to write about boy readers when I noticed a lady cleaning the lobby area nearby.  Bucket filling has become part of me.  I enjoy noticing the good people do.  We have such busy, demanding lives that the little things often get overlooked.  A kind word goes a long way – and it doesn’t take much time.

So, I’m sitting here thinking of how to share some information when my eye catches the lady bending down to dust the pots of the plants.  She wipes down the railing, top and bottom.  She straightens and picks up some lint on the floor.  The lady saw me noticing her and came over to empty the trash can nearby.  She smiled mannerly.  “You are doing a wonderful job keeping this place beautiful,”  I commented.  The lady’s smile spread wide with teeth showing.

“Oh, thank you.  You like it?” she replied with an accent that made me listen more closely.

“Yes.  You’ve done a wonderful thing!”  I stated again.  She then pointed to her name tag and introduced herself.  She added, “If you like, please let the manager know.”  I wrote her name down and plan to do so.  She left with a smile on her face.

Noticing the good job she was doing didn’t cost me anything extra.  In fact, I’m smiling and feeling better.  Think of how much better you would work if someone noticed the little things you do in your work or at home.  It would have a positive affect on you.

As I return to school, I want to remember to notice the little things the students do.  A simple noticing may boost a child’s mood.   A simple noticing may encourage a child’s effort.  A simple noticing may reciprocate a simple noticing.

One Response to Slice of Life 15: Noticing the Little Things

  1. Juliann says:

    What a lovely post and such a wonderful reminder. A thank you can go a long way.

Leave a Reply

