Just OK

August 26, 2009

The title of the book caught my eye – The OK Book.  In my pressured days, I often feel like I have to be master of all and yet I know that I am just OK at many things.  Well, OK is just fine; it’s just OK.  Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Tom Lichtenheld have teamed together to create this delightful book about being average, OK, and feeling good about it.

The character in the book is a stick figure created The OK Bookwith the circular O and the K turned sideways underneath it.

The character talks to you and explains that it likes “to try a lot of different things.”  It proceeds to say it enjoys it even though it’s not a master of them all.

I shared this book with a fourth grade class this past week.  A sense of “I’m OK” spread across their faces.  We have just started school, and the book put them at ease as I shared how being just okay was fine.  We were going to work at subjects and skills.  Some they would be better at than others, just like in the book.

Savorings for reading and in writing for The OK Book:

  • Pattern Book – each page shares some that the character is OK at
  • Class Book activity – everyone could make their own OK page and compile them
  • Voice – the character talks to the reader
  • Synthesis
  • Community building

(Warsaw Public Library)

