Slice of Life: Grocery Shopping

“I need to pick up a few things at the grocery store.  It won’t take long,” I state closing the car door.  Twenty minutes later, I return with five bags in my hand.  Not bad for a quick trip.  Not bad … until I heard the grocery teller say, “$82.47 please.”  Eight two dollars and forty-seven cents.  I shook my head as I headed out the door.

My goal was to get some healthy foods – fruits, fish, and other meat.  Blueberries were three dollars; strawberries were two dollars and seventy-nine cents.  I believe that my purchases are essential, providing good nutrition for my family.  I just wish my purchases left more change in my wallet.

2 Responses to Slice of Life: Grocery Shopping

  1. Christy says:

    Grocery shopping is such a universal topic. How true this is. I would much rather lose a chunk of money to some luxury item. Food, underwear, socks–these things should not cause serious damage to our checkbooks. Well put!

  2. Kari Dyer says:

    We have been trying to eat healthier, too. It’s frustrating how expensive that can be!

Leave a Reply

