Slice of Life: First Graders

sols2 Two first grade boys just came to visit.  I had to stop and write to capture the cuteness of the moment.  Being a young forty-year old, I found this exchange to be amusing and wanted to share.

“Mrs. Gensch, is that you in that picture?” Kyle asked, pointing to a portrait of my husband and I.

“Yes, it is,” I responded.

The six-year-old stared at the picture a while with a quizzical look on his face.  “You sure did look different back then, Mrs. Gensch,” he finally responded.

“How so?” I inquired, wondering what was buzzing in his mind.

“Your hair was longer.  I don’t know.  You just look soooo different back in them olden days,” Kyle stated sincerely.  He smiled and left for class.

Them olden days,” I thought.  I wonder what he would say if my mother was here.

4 Responses to Slice of Life: First Graders

  1. Stacey says:

    “The olden days…”
    Just how many years ago WERE the olden days? (Probably like 9-10 years ago… or maybe not that much, right?)

  2. caroline524 says:

    What a cute story. Isn’t is funny how one day a compliment from them can make your day, and on another day they can make you feel like their granny!

  3. Oh, my! AND to me you are SOOOO young!!!! Love those kids!

  4. So funny! I love the way you set it up, so straightforward, with no real preamble as to whether you really do look different in the picture (we are the same age and I look 100 percent different in my 23-year-old wedding picture, but also 100 percent the same…):)

Leave a Reply

