I’m a Truck Driver

When I saw the new book, I’m a Truck Driver, the cover illustration grabbed my attention.  I knew my young boys would love the book.  A giant semi is on the front with a little boy at the wheel.  His dog is riding shotgun.  The book shouts, “Fun! Adventure! Imagination!”

I'm a Truck Driver by Jonathan London: Book CoverAnother bonus is the author, Jonathan London.  I’m never disappointed with the books he has authored.  Jonathan brings rich language for young children to grasp and use.  Like his famous fun Froggy books, Jonathan London adds some rhythm and rhyme to this text that children will enjoy reading.

David Parkins’s illustrations are large and lively.  Each machine has a personality personifies a child.

Savorings for reading and in writing for I’m a Truck Driver:

  • First person point of view – each machine introduces itself and what it does
  • See Saw text – first the girl is with her machine, then the boy with his
  • Onomatopoeia – “I’m a Garbage Truck driver.  Screech, thump, grind, bump!”
  • Mentor text – children can explain their object through the structure of this book
  • Vivid Verbs

PES and WPL new book

One Response to I’m a Truck Driver

  1. the other ruth says:

    Oh my gosh!! I need this book! I have a little guy who struggles with so much, but loves trucks. He and “poppa” (granddad) spend time in Poppa’s truck and it’s the one topic guaranteed to hold his attention for long periods of time. He’s even written a little about trucks, and I’m thinking this will spark more writing for him. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

