Slice of Life: Cancellation

Cancellation – What’s your first thought?  Positive or Negative?

You see, cancellation could be either – depending on the context. 

For example, if your flight is cancelled, then you have to wait.  Negative.

But, it could be positive.  You get to linger for a few more hours with a loved one.

Snow has fallen – a LOT! Snow day cancellation.  Positive.  I get a day to write.

But, six cancellations equals more days in the summer.  Negative.

I’ve decided cancellation is a choice. 

I mean I can choose to look at the situation in a positive or negative way.

So, my last cancellation for now (the idea that brought this slice to mind) – Diet Coke.

You see, my friends have been “talking” to me via email about chocolate.  Stresses of the day:  ISTEP.  Broken retainer. Computer glitches.  Chocolate is the sanity for my moment of distress.

As I pondered chocolate (while eating my healthy salad), I thought, “Oh to cancel the calories.” 

I pondered more.  Solution found: Diet Coke! 

Yes, you see the diet cancels calories, so that combined with the chocolate will definitely cancel … some guilt.

Happy cancelling today!!  🙂

8 Responses to Slice of Life: Cancellation

  1. caroline524 says:

    I completely agree with you about Diet Coke and chocolate!

  2. Tam says:

    Isn’t fun how writing just leads us to our many worlds!! I liked your lightheartedness in this post–you go, girl!

  3. the other ruth says:

    This is exactly the way I figure stuff–which maybe is why I’m not a math genius. 🙂 Loved this post and the way your mind worked with the idea of the word cancellation. A choice. Yep. I think a lot of words could work that way. More slices? Maybe.

  4. Tara says:

    I love the back and forthing in your thought process…this is exactly how my own mind works!

  5. Kari Dyer says:

    Love your thinking, Mary Helen. I actually chuckled out loud when I got to the end. I wasn’t expecting your last line at all.

    Love the new look of your blog, too! 🙂

  6. Ruth says:

    Ahh…what a clever last line. Thanks for making me smile today.
    ruth

  7. Diana says:

    I’m guessing your post sounds a lot like your real voice. Do your hands move when you talk? I enjoyed your post so much at the end of a very long day. It made me feel like we were just a couple of teachers talking with each other.

  8. Cathy says:

    What a great way to look at things. How sad that I view cancellation as a night to stay home and that it’s good? 🙂

Leave a Reply

