SOL 4: Oh Dear!

Our son has baseball practice in the evenings this month. The other night, Wes called, soon after leaving for practice. He began the phone conversation by saying, “I’m okay, but …. ”

Those words brought a mixture of feelings: Relief, yes. Fear, yes! Questions, plenty.

The next line Wes spoke has spurred a short poem for Poetry Friday.

Dad. I hit a deer.”

OH DEAR!

13 Responses to SOL 4: Oh Dear!

  1. quilt addict says:

    glad he is ok….been there lived through it!! Boys and excitement just go together.

  2. Mindi Rench says:

    My own daughters are only 6 and 9, so I’ve yet to get that kind of phone call from either of them, but I’ve gotten a few from my parents and/or grandparents. That moment when your heart races because the phone rings at an unexpected time is one of the scariest moments, to me at least.

    Glad your son is fine!

  3. elsie says:

    Those are words that strike fear in the hearts of all parents. Love the poem!

  4. Elizabeth E. says:

    I, too, have had the clutch of a heart stopping at words I don’t expect. Once was a ruined transmission. Another was a child witnessing a three-person fatality on graduation night. I always felt glad they could call me, even though on the former I was furious and on the latter, couldn’t offer up salve the sorrow.

    Your situation reminds me of William Stafford’s poem Traveling Through the Dark. Here it is: http://www.eecs.berkeley.edu/~richie/poetry/html/poem185.html

    Elizabeth E.
    http://peninkpaper.blogspot.com

  5. Carrie F. says:

    It’s it amazing how children pick up on a parent’s desire to first hear that he/she is okay before they relay the news of something bad? Your slice had me thinking of the time I had to make that same type of call on a snowy Thanksgiving just north of Minneapolis. You’ve made me consider how the person on the other end of the phone was reacting.

    Thanks for sharing your slice today!

    -Carrie F.

  6. Tam says:

    Perfect for a Friday!! I need to look into cinquains and haiku………….

  7. Wanda Brown says:

    I never got that phone call from either son…they called my husband instead knowing he would be more calm. Glad he is okay. Nice post…direct and to the point.

  8. Carol Wilcox says:

    I just got off the phone with my seventeen year old. He is in a rap band that is playing in a competition tonight. He informed me that no one’s parents are going and it would be totally uncool for me to show up. When I asked him to call and check in, he said, “I’m seventeen!” And… I could so connect to your post.

  9. the other ruth says:

    The short narrative works so well here–captures that tense, heart-stopping moment. Nicely written!

  10. Ashley Dawn says:

    Great writing- you captured the feelings perfectly.
    I’m glad your son is okay.

  11. Amanda says:

    So glad he’s OK! I’m certainly not ready to think about those types of conversations yet…

  12. C S Peterson says:

    Smart and considerate child to start with “I’m O.K…” 🙂

  13. Tara says:

    Three terrifying words for a parent – glad he was okay!

Leave a Reply

