SOL 9: Normal?

I entered a first grade class today to work with one of my students. E is a little squirrelly and often does not pay attention in class.ย  Well at least E is not paying attention to the teacher instructing. He’s usually paying attention to the laces on his shoes or the curls in his neighbor’s hair or the pencil rolling on his desk.

When we were walking to my room, I asked, “How are you today?”

E promptly answered, “I’m mostly normal.”

Enough said.

 

13 Responses to SOL 9: Normal?

  1. caroline524 says:

    You have to love a kid’s honesty!

  2. Michelle says:

    Ha! I’m going to have to try using that line!
    Kids are funny and so honest!
    Thanks for the laugh!
    Michelle

  3. Deb says:

    This is why we come back day after day. Where else would you get real life with a touch of comedy? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. jen says:

    That just made my day! I love it when kids are truly in tune to what’s at their core! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Aimee says:

    Cute – very cute. I doubt I would ever get a “mostly normal” response from my 8th graders as they are almost always “mostly weird.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Kari Dyer says:

    There’s never a dull moment around these little guys! This made me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. the other ruth says:

    Boy did I need to read this post just at this moment! Thanks for the smile MH! And I think I have some kids that would get along just fine with E…..

  8. Diana Martin says:

    Another reason I love first graders! They are so darn funny and real. With those few words you created an image in my head of not only E but kids that remind me of E.

  9. Tam Hess says:

    Thanks for the chuckle–a great slice.

  10. Jade says:

    Wow, I wish I felt “mostly normal” every once in a while. Your post made me smile this evening. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Ruth Ferris says:

    You gotta love their one liners! Loved the humor.

  12. mocshire says:

    “Mostly normal” kids don’t say this, do they?

    I loved E’s response!

  13. blink says:

    Your slice makes me want to have lunch with this student and get to know him even more! Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

