SOL 10: Rushed Mornings

As I was racing downstairs once again to the neglected laundry, my thoughts flowed. Mornings are hectic in our household. I try to stay upbeat and positive. It sets the tone for the day, a gift I lavish on my children as they walk out the door.

I began to mentally list my morning and remembered the young man who was featured on Just For a Month blog. He had written in his notebook the things that he liked. Here’s my list from my thoughts:

I’m thankful for:

  • alarm clocks
  • one husband-love him dearly
  • three kids in double digits
  • high school and middle school
  • activities galore
  • wrestling meets
  • baseball practice
  • band concerts
  • “You forgot to tell me what?”
  • trips to the basement for underwear and socks
  • “Mom, where’s my shirt? You know the blue one with the football on it?”
  • charging phones
  • wet towels on the bathroom floor
  • “Yeah and where’s my jacket?”
  • rushed mornings
  • quick hugs,
  • treasured moments
  • and yes, kisses on my cheek!

I’m thankful for … my family!

7 Responses to SOL 10: Rushed Mornings

  1. Sprice says:

    I love your post because i have been there and sometimes would like to revist that time, but other times, I don’t think I could take it anymore! I miss it though. When you are in it, it takes your breath away! Enjoy it, it goes by so quickly! I love the word “lavish”! Lavish all you can on your children while you can! It’s much harder when they are older! Happy slicing!

  2. hey2blondie says:

    You are busy! Enjoy it!

  3. ng says:

    I noted that you started your thankful list with alarm clocks — that hit home since I require three! I love your optimistic outlook!

  4. Heather says:

    I like the idea of this list. Different than what I normally see. It’s nice to take time to reflect and be thankful for things most people would not see as a blessing. Glad you can see differently!

  5. the other ruth says:

    My favorite was “you forgot to tell me what?!” I use that one a lot. Too much. Oh well. 🙂
    Love the list MH–your love for your family shines in it.

  6. Tam says:

    Thanks for the memories. I forgot all that stuff I did. Whew!! It’s all worth it!

  7. quilt addict says:

    Amen!! But did you ever get the laundry done?!! I try to tell myself that I am thankful for laundry….this is as I am turning shirts inside out and ditto for the socks….hmmmm since there are only 2 of us and it is not me……

Leave a Reply

