SOL 17: Green

Today I came to school is the awakening moments of the sun. The birds were singing. Signs of spring were around me. I grabbed my notebook as phrases popped in my head. I’m sure my colleagues who were parking wondered why I would walk, stop; walk a little more, stop.

With notebook and pen in hand, I wrote a few fragments of thoughts down, afraid they would escape by the time I reached my desk. I’ve molded those thoughts into the below poem:

Greeting earth, cheery and light

Reviving the inner soul

Early morning melodious chirping

Echoing through the dainty baby-blue high

Noticing spring life peeking through dormant, dingy dirt

GREEN spring 🙂

8 Responses to SOL 17: Green

  1. elsie says:

    Fragment thoughts have turned into a perfect poem for today. Love to see the life peeking through the dingy dirt.

  2. the other ruth says:

    I can picture you walking and writing, walking and writing. Glad that spring caught up to you this morning.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Do you get to walk to school? If so, what a wonderful thing, to really ‘be’ out before the day of work. That question aside, I liked the way you ‘walked’ up to the poem, & the way you worked so much with sound, like morning and melodious, dirt and dingy.

  4. ng says:

    Your poem was lovely. I love your creative process–grabbing your notebook and holding on to your thoughts.

  5. Sprice says:

    If you are like me, I have to write it down right away or I do forget it! You captured the moment beautifully! It was a wonderful morning to do that in. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  6. Tam says:

    I think you’ve got it–spring at its best touching the inner soul.

  7. Kim M. says:

    Love that your poem was “Green” and it is St. Patrick’s Day. Did you plan that? If you did-clever. If you didn’t-still clever! I can’t wait for spring to come here. We’re wishing the snow away!

  8. Diana Martin says:

    I love the image of you walking about the school on a poetry walk, adding noticings to your notebook. What fun to tell the kids about.

Leave a Reply

