SOL 19: Kindergarteners Say What They Think

This past week, I just kept cracking up at the innocent things kindergartener students kept saying. I would share my  little story with different staff members, creating delight and laughter. So get ready to smile.

Thursday, I entered Mrs. B’s kindergarten classroom to work with two of her boys. Mrs. C, the assistant, had just walked in behind me. Being St. Patrick’s Day, Mrs. C had on a green sweater. I wore my bright green designed shirt. As Mark came towards me, his eyes grew big in amazement.  I could tell he was thinking of something special to say. “Why, Mrs. G, you have on a green shirt like Mrs. C.” I chuckled to myself and smiled. He didn’t realize it was St. Patrick’s Day and green was everywhere. 

On Friday, another kindergartener saw me and called, “Mrs. T, Mrs. T.” When I didn’t answer, he came over and said, “Mrs. T, I said ‘Hello’.”  Mrs. T works in our school office.

“Hello, Brad. Remember, I’m Mrs. G, not Mrs. T,” I corrected. Brad looked at me from head to toe and proceeded to say, “Ohhhh, well you look like Mrs. T.” Brad paused for a second and added, “I guess you are Mrs. G when you are not working and Mrs. T when you are.” I stared back, chuckling. What did he think I did all day? Change disguises?

5 Responses to SOL 19: Kindergarteners Say What They Think

  1. Wanda Brown says:

    I love the stories about our little ones. I often find when I share them with people on the “outside” they don’t get the humor. I had a student ask me if I am pregnant this week. I am 54! I guess he is telling me to lose weight.

  2. the other ruth says:

    I only saw my kids on Monday of this week, but one of them called me grandma…again… I do love the stuff they say and to hear what they think! Glad you are sharing stories with us that make us all smile.

  3. Deb says:

    I also love stories about what children say. Do you remember the Art Linkletter show? (You are probably way tooooooo young) Having kids respond to his questions was the best part of the show. Some days what they say is what motivates us to go back to school the next day! 🙂

  4. jen says:

    So glad you enjoyed a few special moments with your kinders this week as well! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

  5. Linda Baie says:

    What a fun time when we listen to those little ones; they try to figure out the world in such amazing ways. I’m glad you shared the stories.

Leave a Reply

