SOL 23: You Never Know

Today I had a ray of sunshine enter my room – a former teacher I mentored the past two years stopped in for a visit.  With the budget cuts, Bethany was let go at the end of last year. Thankfully, she was hired in at a nearby corporation.  Bethany is on maternity leave and brought her darling baby daughter to have lunch with a few of us. Her hug made the dreariness of the days slide off. I miss her.

Bethany came to our school a few years ago, her first teaching assignment. She was full of ambition, ideas, and excitement. She still is. Each day, her smile spread cheer everywhere. As literacy coach, I modeled writer’s workshop in her class and reflected with her on a regular basis.

One afternoon as we were planning, I mentioned a prior school I had taught at. Bethany perked at the name. “I went to school there,” she said. I smiled. “When?”

“I went there the first year the school opened. I was in kindergarten,” Bethany stated.

My mind raced and I think my face flushed. “Bethany, my first year at H. Elementary was when it first opened.”

We started to laugh. I was teaching (and got married that year) when she was attending.  Bethany brought in her yearbook and yep, there she was a cute little kindergartener and there I was a younger looking me. We shared our story with her class and stated that we had an important job teaching them. “One of you may teach alongside us in the future.”

5 Responses to SOL 23: You Never Know

  1. the other ruth says:

    Wow! I bet that was fun! It is strange to think that our current students may one day teach alongside us. Strange and very cool.

  2. Wanda Brown says:

    What a small world and a delightful story.

  3. Natalee says:

    That’s so cool!

  4. ng says:

    What a great slice. It’s good to have a ray of sunshine– both in the past and the present!

  5. Elizabeth G. says:

    How incredibly special. I love when those small world moments happen. What a great moment to share with your students as well.

Leave a Reply

