SOL 24: Great Laugh for Today

The computer room is across the hall from my literacy office. When I am reading posts, the teacher often hears me laugh. We share stories with each other and I have been sending her slices that tickle my funny bone. Laughter is the sweetest and most potent medicine for a tough day.

Today, Abby came over and explained that she has been teaching the second graders how to use type and use the word processor. A typing exercise they did today was about spring. Wonderful. The students typed the open-ended sentence,
“In the spring, I see….”  One little girl typed, “In the spring, I see ratcoons.” (Interesting image).

The other one she shared had me laughing so hard the teachers down the hall began to laugh.  The second grade boy typed,

“In the spring, I see a porta potty and fresh cut grass.”

9 Responses to SOL 24: Great Laugh for Today

  1. Elizabeth G. says:

    Giggle, giggle….how incredibly cute. I just saw port-a-potties on a flat bed truck this afternoon. I guess he’s on to something.

  2. Kari Dyer says:

    Too funny!!! I was just thinking the other day that I know it’s spring when I start seeing roadkill. Yuck! Poor little critters! They just don’t know what hits ’em (literally) when they wake up from their long winter nap.

  3. Wanda Brown says:

    Cute story…made me smile:)

  4. the other ruth says:

    Ha!!! Ah…the smells of springtime! 🙂
    This is awesome–SO glad you shared it!

  5. Tam says:

    It is an open-ended sentence!! I need to laugh every day, too!

  6. Natalee says:

    That’s great! It really is amazing what kids with come out with!

  7. Michelle says:

    Slices of Laughs (SOL) — a new challenge! I love to get a good laugh in every day. It is good, healthy medicine! Thanks for sharing the spring sights . . . I’ll be on the look out!

  8. hey2blondie says:

    too cute!

  9. Ruth says:

    funny stuff, MHG. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

