SOL 25: Me – a midget?

I’m short.

At five foot five-and-a-half inches, I’m short.

I haven’t always been short, but I am short.

My husband is six-foot three.

My seventeen year old son is six-foot two.

I’m okay with that.

Last night, I went to hug my fourteen year old daughter good night and noticed something odd. I was eye level with her … nose. Going back to back, my husband measured. “Elizabeth is five foot seven.” She giggled.

My mouth dropped open.  When did this happen?

Hearing the news, my twelve year old son comes in smiling.  Back to back we go.  He is five foot six inches tall.

“This is not funny,” I state, hands on my hips.

Tim bellowed. “No, not funny. (snickers and more laughter).  It’s hilarious.”

I’m short.

8 Responses to SOL 25: Me – a midget?

  1. Elizabeth G says:

    I had to chuckle out loud. My mom always said the same thing. My brother and I quickly began to tower over her…the dog was even close to her height when she stood on her hind legs. It’s not always bad to be short though. Isn’t there a saying, “good things come in small packages?”

  2. hey2blondie says:

    I’m short too! Just yesterday two of my former students stopped by. They went to hug me and they had to bend down! I don’t remember them being so tall when I taught them in 6th and 7th grade or maybe I’ve shrunk.

  3. grade4wizard says:

    This is funny. I can relate to it. It was very strange to find myself between my two teenage daughters both taller than I. My sister and I have been head taller than our mom. Now she is really tiny next to her granddaughters. But she doesn’t mind. She sometimes climbs on a high chair to see what it feels like to be tall.

  4. the other ruth says:

    Oh dear–this is like a glimpse into my future.
    By the way, strong writing! The short sentences, the pause, the sparse but spot-on dialog. It all works so well. Nice!

  5. Donna Smith says:

    I did the same to my mother, and then my kids did it to me. I don’t think kids are getting taller and I don’t think I’m getting smaller. It must be an illusion.

  6. Linda Baie says:

    Guess it happens to most of us. An oft said joke at our school is that when the students outgrew most of the teachers, it was time to move on. (Our school goes only to 8th grade.) I liked the way you led us down that path.

  7. ng says:

    I think the correct word now is vertically-challenged! I enjoyed your slice very much. It was, to quote your son, “hilarious”.

  8. Cathy says:

    My first thought was…I’m only an inch taller!

    I giggled throughout the slice!

Leave a Reply

