SOL: Baseball Lingo

As I sit watching my sons play baseball, the baseball chatter catches my ears. I began to write down comments the coaches, the players, the opponents were saying. From the simple, batter up to keep firing to know what you want, Ah take a step to round it lookin. It is rather amusing. For me, my listening comprehension has been challenged.  Last year, I wrote a slice as a poem. How many of the following baseball lingo do you know?

Box ’em up

Atta kid

Squeeze the zone

Eat it!

Bear down

Another step

Level swing

Let’s go, 2-1!

BASEBALL code at it’s best!

10 Responses to SOL: Baseball Lingo

  1. Ruth says:

    I’ve been collecting baseball lingo in my notebook. Can’t wait to share it with you when we meet next week. Cool slice. I love collecting snippets of talk.

  2. Donna Smith says:

    We should have some of those for coaching writing…
    Squeeze the zone = too wordy
    Level swing = good, to the point
    Atta kid = loved your writing, it was right on

  3. Elizabeth G. says:

    We are in the midst of learning the lingo. I just like to make up my own. I’ll have to listen closely tomorrow at T’s game. I guess I’ll be broadening my horizons. 😉

  4. Diana Martin says:

    Darn it! I wish I would have read this before my son’s last game. I’ve noticed the lingo before but honestly, I don’t know what a lot of it means. I’m learning. Now I want to write down what I hear at his next game. Maybe you can translate for me. I’ve also noticed that there is a certain rhythm and intonation to the lingo.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    I don’t know anything; my only experience is soccer! Not much banter there. But I loved that you took these found phrases and turned them into a poem. Nice.

  6. Ashley says:

    Baseball is pretty much my favorite thing in the whole wide world. The special language (dialect, if you will) that goes along with it make it all the more magical. Thanks for sharing this!

  7. the other ruth says:

    Hmm…good one! Now, if you had some track or basketball lingo, I’d be with you. I’m slowly picking up swimming stuff from my kids, but you’re right–whole new language!
    This makes me want to start collecting bits and pieces. Thanks!

  8. ng/Nora says:

    Oh, my goodness! i don’t recognize any of these! I love how you not only collected the phrases but turned them into a found poem!

  9. Tam says:

    I haven’t been to a kid’s baseball game for awhile– many new terms! Could be part of a story you may write some day!

Leave a Reply

