Dog Loves Books

I fell in love with this book! Dog Loves Books is dear to my heart! My writing group met this past Tuesday, and I shared this book with them. “It is so me,” to which they agreed.

Dog loves everything about books and decides to open a book store. While he waits for customers, he stays busy reading. Louise Yates illustrates how the characters of his book come alive and is a fun introduction of visualizing during reading for children. Finally, a little girl comes to the bookstore for a book, and Dog knows just the right one for her. He knows his books and how to match his customers with a just-right book.

I feel such a connection to this book as I love reading children’s books and then sharing them with kids. I believe I’m going to begin the year sharing this book with classes, sparking a love of reading with them.The illustrations support the simple text and allow you to linger over the meaning.

Savorings for reading and in writing for Dog Loves Books:

  • Visualizing during reading
  • Every day happening
  • All About example – although this book is a narrative, the theme is centered around an interest and young children could use this book as a mentor text, sharing their interest in a similar way
  • Grammar – the simple text allows you to focus on sentence structure; several different types of sentences are used, simple to complex

PES new book 🙂

8 Responses to Dog Loves Books

  1. Ruth says:

    Happy birthday friend. A perfect book for today and it makes me wonder what picture book I could say, “It’s so me!” about. This book is a definite “must-add” to my personal library.

  2. Tam says:

    Happy Birthday to you, Mary Helen! My brother’s birthday was today, too. Thanks for bringing Dog Loves Books to writing group. I love it, too. I’m always looing for books for the grandkids! Sharing is what books and writing is all about!!! Now, eat cake!!!

  3. Mrs. V says:

    Happy Birthday Mary Helen – I hope that you are having a great day! I always love connecting with a book and thinking about the perfect way to use it in the classroom. I am excited for you to be able to share this at the start of the year.

  4. the other ruth says:

    Happy birthday MH! That book IS so you, and like Ruth, I’m wondering what books would “be me”. Of course, this one would make the list–it’s already on my wish list, since I don’t own it (yet).
    I’m so glad you shared it with us the other night and hope that you are having a fabulous day!

  5. Nora says:

    Happy birthday! This sounds like a great book to kickoff Readers Workshop! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Tammy says:

    Happy Birthday Mary Helen. Hope you enjoyed your day! I’m guessing you read at least one new book! Thanks for sharing with us all your books and ideas! Happy happy happy birthday!!!

  7. I am so happy to have found your blog through TWO WRITING TEACHERS! My life, too, was changed by WONDROUS WORDS…and I’ve never read (or written) the same way again. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful selection of books; I am off to order a few of your recommendations now!

  8. […] by Ruth: Pssst…today is Mary Helen’s birthday! Won’t you join me in leaving comments on her blog post about one of her very favorite books? Mary Helen Gensch is currently a literacy coach and Title I interventionist for Pierceton […]

Leave a Reply

