Author Tidbits: a Pleasing Bit of Information

Author Tidbits is something new I have decided to add to my blog. As I read children’s books, I like to gain some background knowledge about the author to share with the children. Making a connection to the author enriches their writing and boost their confidence.  It’s important to notice how the child is writing like an author and then state it to him/her.

As I have blogged about books, I try to link the author’s websites to the post. I am finding that several authors also have video clips linked on their websites or when I search Google. The interviews I’ve viewed are enriching as a writer, and I want my students to have that opportunity to feel connected. A new tab has been featured on my blog, listing the authors and a short summary of what you can find on their websites. I will also feature an author on my Thursday posts.

Today’s author:  Pamela Duncan Edwards

Pamela Duncan Edwards’s website features a for children tab that has puzzles, creative character building, and a number game as part of its features. Children will have fun exploring her website.  For teachers, Pamela has several lessons linked to her books. She has 9 Smart Board lesson links; I’m impressed. Two readers theaters scripts are listed as well. Pamela shares her biography in a conversational voice. She’s humorous, and I think children will connect with her.

Reading Rockets features an interview with Pamela. I enjoyed viewing the four short 2 minute video clips about how she began writing and her ideas behind the alliteration. She has collaborated with illustrator, Henry Cole, on 18 books. Have fun viewing!

I have posted about her books: Muldoon and The Worrywarts.

2 Responses to Author Tidbits: a Pleasing Bit of Information

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I like your idea to add author information. It seems to me that our students need to know all about how writers work, not just see their good words. Showing about them, that they’re such a diverse group, can be inspiring.

  2. Wanda Brown says:

    I agree, adding the author info is very helpful. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

