SOL: Want Your Notebook?

My children are learning that I like to capture funny comments and stories in my writer’s notebook. When my daughter had her friends over, my shorthand couldn’t keep up with the hilarious conversation they were having. My notebook holds some great snippets of laughter.

Recently, my oldest son had several friends over. As I was fixing snacks in the other room, one of the teens began an elaborate story about his previous night’s dream of being a wedding planner, something totally off for his personality.  As he began to share one bizarre, elaborate detail after another, the group interjected their ideas. The story grew and grew and grew.

My youngest son came into the room, looked at me chuckling and said, “Hey mom, do you want your notebook?”

5 Responses to SOL: Want Your Notebook?

  1. Linda Baie says:

    So funny-kids try to be so grown up, then they do these funny things that make you chuckle non-stop. Thanks for telling us about it; I assume he brought your notebook?

  2. Deb Day says:

    I think it’s great that they know mom is a writer and needs her notebook for things like this!

  3. Ha ha ha! If my son said that, he would be trying to be a smarty-pants! He loves to tease. He’ll say stuff like, “I suppose you’re gonna blog about that.” Do your kids every read your blog? My son likes to know when I’m going to write about him again.

  4. I agree that it is great that your son recognizes your writer instincts – and is ready to aid and abet.

  5. grade4wizard says:

    Your son knows you. I hope that you got your notebook and had a chance to write.
    Terje

Leave a Reply

