SOL: Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving reflects a goal I work at each day – staying positive and being a bucket-filler. My smile has widened tonight with the many slices I have read.

Thanksgiving reflections for today:

  1. My husband – our twentieth anniversary is tomorrow, Nov. 23. I’m thankful he supports my endeavors and is by side always.
  2. My kids – three teenagers bring love to its fullest, conversations to its deepest, and hairs to its grayest.
  3. My writing group – Ruth, the other Ruth, Tam, Tammy, you are the BEST! Thank you!
  4. SOL community – You are an inspiration. We reflect, nudge, and encourage each other. I loved meeting everyone at the breakfast.
  5. NCTE – refreshed with new ideas to spur me onward and AllWrite!!! for providing the funding
  6. My job – teaching touches many lives.
  7. Laughter – I love laughing and am thankful the laughter supports a safe environment for my students to learn in.
  8. My parents – who still listen, give advice, and share in my everyday happenings
  9. My father-in-law – Living with us is a pleasure, not a burden. I’m thankful my children are learning from you as you share in our lives.
  10. Colleagues who brighten my day

 

6 Responses to SOL: Thanksgiving

  1. Stacey says:

    So great to meet you too (at breakfast, dinner, at our session, and in passing)!

    AND, Happy 20th anniversary. How exciting!

  2. elsie says:

    You have a wonderful list. Your life is blessed! And you make everyone who reads Book Savors richer by your words. Thank you!

  3. What a nice slice to read and reflect on as I move into the holiday weekend.

  4. Linda Baie says:

    I’ve never heard of ‘bucket-fillers’ so thank you. I’ll check it out further. Your list shows such thoughtfulness. I hope you have a very happy Thanksgiving.

  5. JenniferM says:

    Thanks for sharing all the wonderful things you have to be thankful for! Like Linda, I hadn’t heard of the “bucket-filler” concept before either — thanks for posting the link! I can tell from the way you wrote each item on your list that you work hard to be positive, encouraging, and inspiring every day. Your students and family members are lucky to have you!

  6. My favorite item is #2: your kids. The description after them makes it clear to me just how lucky they are to have you in their lives to love, to talk, and to worry. I hope your daughter’s first high school dance made for some deep, shared conversation upon your return home from the convention! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

