SOL: Why my Mind is Tired

Thoughts on my mind(as a conversation):

  • snow – I wonder if we will have a delay tomorrow? I could use the time to write. 🙂
  • thankfulness – Wes is safe after going into the ditch due to a drunk driver (yes, the car is fine too but not his IPod that went into the water that was leaking into his car. At least the electronic can be replaced and not my son.) Need to check his tires.
  • Kindle – my daughter investigating, wanting one for many, many reasons (yes, I get to use it too, which would be a plus. I’m just not sure if I want to read books electronicly. I like the feel of paper. But, it would save carrying books around during down times of waiting. I might like it.)
  • writing group next Friday – can’t wait! Read the query letter and it got me excited again. Need to work on my chapters some more
  • article – nudged, challenged to write an article about my connection to The Junkyard Wonder. I like the idea. I definitely can tell a story about a child who struggled with reading (yes, I remember the buzzard reading group and the horrid SRA kits. Don’t get me started!!!!!)
  • presentation proposal – should I present one or two sessions in March? Not sure. I like the idea of trying it, but do I have time to get both organized? (yes, this would be good for me. It would allow me to have an alive audience to share my thinking and learning about finding craft in the books you love.)
  • laundry – skipping that
  • homeless shelter – served food tonight to 17 men and 15 women plus 6 kids. They were grateful; I was reflective. We have so much!
11 Responses to SOL: Why my Mind is Tired

  1. capewriter says:

    I like to read your thoughts, Mary Helen. They kind of remind me of my own — randomly focused :). Glad you skipped the laundry. Tell us more about your book!!!!

    Enjoy the snow!

    • MaryHelen says:

      My thoughts were random. I almost didn’t post, because I was having trouble thinking of a small moment. Penny Kittle says to write, just write, and thoughts will begin to come. Oh, and the query letter is not for me – yet; it’s for someone in my writing group. I was reading and responding, which helped me get focused on my writing. It was so nice to meet you at NCTE. I look forward to seeing you again sometime and communicating through SOL. You are a gem! MHG

  2. Stacey says:

    M.H.: Now that I’ve met you and heard about your kids and your writing projects, it’s even better to read your writing. Isn’t it nice to make a personal connection.
    First, I’m glad Wes is okay. iPods can be replaced, people cannot.
    Second, what’s the presentation in March for?
    Third, thanks for contributing your time tonight.
    Finally, good luck with the delay and the extra time to write tomorrow. I heard on the Weather Channel that Indiana really has gotten hammered this evening.
    My best,
    Stacey

    • MaryHelen says:

      Yes, it was wonderful to make a personal connection. I’m so glad I had the opportunity to meet you. We did get snow – lots. The branches are bent due to the heavy, wet snow and school was cancelled.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I think I could say your mind is tired, but your thoughts are still active. I enjoyed the way you listed the important things going on now, and am glad your son is okay. FYI-I have a new IPad & like reading from it, although I’ve only uploaded some poetry so far. My daughter, an avid reader, loves her Kindle. I’m interested in the Junkyard Wonders connection-an amazing book, and your presentations. Am so admiring that you will do them. And, finally, all that you do plus you give your time to those in need another way. Thank you!

  4. Michelle says:

    So many thoughts and wonders and worries crammed into such a small space and time. It’s amazing how we get anything accomplished when we are always thinking!

    Glad to hear that your son is okay. Scary! Looking forward to hearing about your presentations — for what? Laundry – skip it. I do that a lot! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts – easy to read as a conversation.

    • MaryHelen says:

      Thanks, Michelle. I wasn’t sure if writing a list would work, but I wanted to write something. It’s amazing how much we think about from the serious to the trivial.

  5. Scary about Wes. So glad he is safe. So many plates spinning around. I can relate. Your snow day comment made me chuckle. My son started in last night about my thoughts on potential cancelations and delays. He wasn’t happy when I kept saying that we weren’t getting enough snow and the ground wasn’t cold enough for ice. He humpfed upstairs muttering about my negative attitude. Hope you get your day off. 🙂

  6. I even love your title! My mind is tired too! I am so jealous that you got a day off to breathe.

    I have had a Sony e-reader for a year now and I love it. I am upgrading to a Kindle DX this Christmas. It will NEVER replace the feel of paper in my hands, but it is exciting in its own way for its own reasons to have an electronic book. I am a fan of the ink screen. I say jump in, spoil yourself and get your own!

    I would love to read your Junkyard Wonders article (or even unpolished thoughts on it). You introduced that book to me at breakfast and I was sold!

    Where might you present in March??

    Obviously your list of tidbits that was born out of no single, solid slice idea is a wealth of juicy ideas that leave me wanting more! Did you feel that nudge I just gave you to keep writing? 🙂

    p.s. This is so much more fun now that I met you!

Leave a Reply

