SOL: Grandma’s Cookies

Last week, I met with our writing study group Ruth and I are facilitating. I featured the book, Sugar Cookies Sweet Lessons on Love by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, as a springboard for our writing.

Memories of  Grandma flooded my thoughts shaping into a short poem with immense meaning.

Grandmother’s Cookies

Aroma of belonging

Morsels of happiness

Sweetness of endearment

Constant

7 Responses to SOL: Grandma’s Cookies

  1. Tam says:

    Love the simplicity of a wonderful memory. Words “belonging” and “constant” draw me to a favorite aunt–thanks!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    The line ‘aroma of belonging’ is so telling. There are a number of smells that take me into memories. You’ve written it well! I’m making cookies today with a granddaughter-maybe it will push into her memories too! Thanks for the book idea too!

  3. Donna Smith says:

    Aroma of belonging is precious and brings back the memories of aromas that told me I was home…or at grandma’s. There was a difference, but I belonged in those smells!

  4. Ruth says:

    MHG — Love the simplicity of this poem. Hope you are relishing break. 🙂
    ruth

  5. Now I want to read the book, but I fear it will pale in comparison to your well-crafted words! This is a poem to savor!

  6. onesunflower says:

    I love the line “sweetness of endearment” – no cookie could replace a grandma

  7. I don’t know how to get your e-mail address, so sorry for commenting here, but I really think you need to join me in a book blog comment challenge at MotherReader’s blog. It starts today, but you can still join tomorrow.

    I miss your posts and I hope you are just taking a well-deserved mini-break.

Leave a Reply

