SOLC: Laughing

For the past half hour, our three children have been sharing teenage sayings, tagging on to stories, and laughing. LAUGHING! I thought, I wish I could record the three-some laughter and post it. The noise, somewhat annoying yet definitely inviting, snagged my attention and kept me from being productive in my reading. My husband walked through their hysterics, shaking his head. His eyes said, “Can you believe this?”

It’s not that our kids don’t laugh; many times they are making cynical remarks or listening to their music or doing homework. Sharing stories and laughing for over a half an hour – it’s just a rarity. I wanted to stop time … and video it all. We’d probably win $10,000 on America’s Funniest Videos. The viewers would begin to laugh even if they couldn’t understand the words. The cheerful pitches spurred a million endorphins through our three teenagers’ brains.

I’ve noticed this positive change the past few weeks, ever since our trip to Florida. The sunshine did cheer our spirits, but our two youngest got a taste of not having their senior brother around for four days. They had been remarking, almost reveling in the fact that Wes will be out of the house in the fall. “My own room,” our youngest declares. “No more bossing,” our daughter states. Yet deep down, past the annoying remarks and sibling nuisance, our three teens like each other.

So I grab this slice, this moment in time, and … smile.

I laugh and hold and savor the moment.

Laughter… vibrate through our beings, warm our hearts, and connect our spirits. We…are…family! ❤

8 Responses to SOLC: Laughing

  1. elsie says:

    I know what you mean about listening to the sound of pure laughter. I have a 20 second video that has my granddaughter’s laughter on it. Sometimes I just listen to hear that joyous sound. Tape it, you will be glad you did.

  2. Now THAT is a true slice of life. You have captured the emotions so well–the ones that are bubbling to the surface audibly as well as the underlying emotions that opened the door for this exchange!

  3. JenniferM says:

    What a sweet moment! I’m glad you captured it here. It’s nice to see that your children really are close — even when they don’t realize it themselves!

  4. Linda Baie says:

    I love that you wanted to record the laughter happening & post it! Guess it could be a podcast! It’s a wonderful moment that you captured, and especially connected to the breaking of the bonds, because they will be different next year, okay, but still changed. Thank you for grabbing and sharing.

  5. Ruth says:

    Lovely, MHG. This is why we write. This is why we capture the slices of the day. Next year, at about this time, you’re going to be thankful you have these words tucked away.
    Ruth 🙂

  6. Stacey says:

    Laughter and giggles are a wonder. How great it is you chose to capture their laughter in your writing today.

  7. Tam says:

    Special times. You are very fortunate to have so much laughter in your family–Florida sunshine, laughter, and 3 kids=recipe for bannishing the winter blues!

  8. onesunflower says:

    I think your words are better than video.

Leave a Reply

