My Name is not …

Do you remember daydreaming of being a famous movie star? When I was little, I wanted to be like Shirley Temple. She was the cutest kid, could dance and charm anyone. She said the cutest things and was adorable. As I grew older, my heroine was Jaclyn Smith. Her hair flowed beautifully, she had beautiful skin, and had adventure with style. Oh, if only I could be like her, I would sigh.

Girls love to dress up, pretending to be someone grander than they are. Each dreams of being in the lime light and full of adventure. Jennifer Fosberry captures the little girl dreamer in her book, My Name is Not Isabella: Just How Big Can a Little Girl Dream.

View the one minute book trailer. 🙂

Isabella is a young girl full of hopes and dreams. As she goes through her daily routine, Isabella pretends to be a famous, historical woman. The book encourages children to believe they can achieve any career activity they want.

I am Helen, the greatest, kindest librarian of all.”

Watch the below one minute YouTube video of how illustrator, Mike Litwin, transforms a one page sketch into a colorful scene.

This book will spark ideas for every young student who has dreamed of being someone. It will create conversation around making goals and believing in themselves.

A companion book for boys is called My Name is Not Alexander.

Savorings for reading and in writing for My Name is Not Isabella:

  • Imagination
  • Dreams/ goals
  • Repeating Structure
  • Superlatives – toughest, fastest, bravest, smartest,
  • Bookend – begins day, ends day
5 Responses to My Name is not …

  1. This book looks like such a wonderful way to affirm kids’ freedom to dream and to become their dreams. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Oh, the two books would be such fun for writing workshop, for older and younger students to write about what they dream & want to be. Thanks for telling about the books.

  3. Oh, I like this book. Great for my granddaughter. Gives have such wonderful imaginations and at that age they can dream big. Nice review.

  4. Someone once mentioned these books to me….and I forgot about them. Thank you so much for the reminder. Now I will buy them! We need more of these books in the family library, classroom, and world! a.
    ps – Great bookshelves!

  5. Tam says:

    I like the idea behind these books. Thanks again, Mary Helen.

Leave a Reply

