Dogs

Emily Gravett uses her illustrations to lure her readers in. The soft, puppy with the leash in his mouth makes any dog-lover go, “Awe” and want to read more. Cat lovers, listen up. This book will be one you will enjoy too. It will springboard for you as well.

The simpleness yet carefully paired dogs, in the book called Dogs, is a natural text to teach compare and contrast. It promotes a structure children can duplicate with topics they know.

All through the text, the narrator shares her love for dogs. On my first read, I assumed the narration to be one character and was very surprised in the end. I can’t spoil it. You will have fun, I guarantee. Your students will be sharing stories and Dogs will provide a catalyst for writing at any grade level. Have fun. I’d love to hear your classroom stories.

View Emily Gravett’s author videos at Reading Rockets. There are ten short, worthwhile videos (each 1 to 3 minutes in length). She talks about how she began her writing, illustrating, and even reads one of her books, Monkey and Me. Coming from the United Kingdom, your students will enjoy hearing her accent and learning about this read author. I also highly recommend checking her website out. She has activities for children and background on her books. There is even a contest linked with her book, Again. Children can write to her.

Another 1.5 minute video shows Emily drawing process.

Emily shows children how she illustrates a book for another author with her newest book, Cave Baby.

Savorings for reading and writing for Dogs:

  • Compare/Contrast
  • Repeating Structure
  • surprize ending
  • Perspective
  • Expert topic to use as a mentor text
4 Responses to Dogs

  1. Enjoyed reading your post about reading and writing for Dogs. But, I really enjoyed viewing the videows of Emily at work illustrating. I love to watch how each illustrates and this is the first time I’ve ever seen it step by step. What a gift. I imagineschool kids would have fun with this. Always enjoy you suggestions. Nice post!

  2. We’re a dog family, so I’ll have to add this one to my list. I enjoyed the videos and will need to check out her website.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    What a great thing that she made videos to show how she works! I know that students would love to see them. The book looks beautifully done. I know students would love it, but I have a brother who runs a non-profit to save animals, many of them dogs, and he too would love it. Thanks!

  4. Amanda says:

    Thanks for including the videos of Emily’s illustrating process! I enjoy seeing how people work. Plus I’m a graphic design student so this is all stuff I hope to do one day =)

Leave a Reply

