SOLSC: Let the Slices Begin

Slice of Life Challenge

March 1st is the anticipated date. Yes, this is the day of the written word, the challenge to capture a moment in time. This is the challenge that changed my life. Today the Slice of Life Story Challenge begins.
For me, this is a renewal of my commitment to write.
Three years ago, I began and fizzled half way through.
Two years ago, I posted each day but only commented a little.
Last year, I learned how powerful comments were.
And I connected.

I connected with teachers and encouraged others just like me. I reflected and risked my thoughts. I dabbled in poetry and played with words. I linked blogs and admired eloquence. I captured quotes and savored language. I learned to slice.

This year, I look forward to connecting with blogging friends and learning how words are crafted. I look forward to encouragement and the art of encouraging too. I look forward to capturing the moments in a day, the memories of the past, and sharing with my students the writer that I am.

March 1st:
Let the slices begin!

12 Responses to SOLSC: Let the Slices Begin

  1. Tam says:

    You have definitely launched the Beginning of Sliceness–nicely done!!! I see how much you’ve grown. May you continue to grow!!

  2. elsie says:

    I am so surprised to read your journey had bumps in the road. You always get it right as far as I am concerned. Love your posts and looking forward to a month of your thoughts.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I can just feel the excitement emanating from your words, Mary Helen. And I assumed that you were just the veteran of years! I’ve loved reading your savors all year & look forward to more! Thanks for this!

  4. Amanda says:

    Hey Mary Helen! So good to see you and I look forward to hearing from you this month. Not only that, but the fact that we got to meet at NWP this year in Chicago – even better! The power of comments is so true!! It’s what makes me want to keep writing – what makes it feel like a joy and not a burden. Thanks for being par tof that joy for me.

  5. Good for you! Your excitement is contagious! Look forward to following your journey!

  6. Deb says:

    I am so with you…”learning how words are crafted” and “looking forward to the art of encouragement”. I’m hoping to be a little more relaxed about the challenge and ENJOY the crafting. You’re a great role model for me!

  7. I love your background pic. in your blog too. I look forward to getting to know you through your writing.

  8. Barbara says:

    Like you, I am hoping to dabble and take some risk. Looking forward to reading more of your post.

  9. You said it best: “I learned how powerful comments were. And I connected.” That is what this challenge is all about. Yes, we have to write every day, but the sharing, connecting, commenting is what really makes this challenge special! Glad to be on this journey with you once again!

  10. the other ruth says:

    Hi MH! I’m in too! You were early with your slice–I’m impressed. 🙂

  11. Love your verbs here: connected, reflected, dabbled, captured, linked, learned…

    I am so glad to have been someone with whom you connected!

  12. Cathy says:

    This is my first year to join the challenge. I am hoping I can stay committed. What is the secret to balancing writing, reading and commenting?

    Cathy

    merelydaybyday.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

