SOLSC: Roto Rooter, Where are You?

“AAAAWWWWWW – SSTTTOOOP. DON’T FLUSH THE TOILET!!!!” I yelled from the basement.

Too late.

I was downstairs, starting my first load of laundry for the evening. While hanging up the clothes from the dryer, water began to gush from the connecting washing-machine hose. Pushing the knob in, I shoved a bucket under the pipe trying to catch the fountain when I heard the flush.! My eyes bulged as my brain dashed with thoughts. Where was someone? Make it stop!

Bucket. Water gushing, gushing, gushing!

“HELLLPPPPP!” At that moment, my oldest finally had heard my desperation and had rushed in for a rescue. “What’s happened?”

“AWWWW!!!” My words were stuck in my stunned-panicked-I-don’t-know-what-to-do brain.

Wesley doubled over and started laughing. Laughing. Can you believe that?

Well, yes, I can. It was really a crazy turn to my afternoon. While laughing, Wes grabbed another bucket and rescued me. We switched back and forth panning the water out.

Just a few minutes ago, my daughter took her shower. I was waiting with the bucket and she finished quickly. My husband already called Roto Rooter and left a message. (We predict the tree roots are stopping the water line again.) And now I have a story to share with you, a memory I will not forget.

8 Responses to SOLSC: Roto Rooter, Where are You?

  1. elsie says:

    This is not the way to get a slice to write. Plumbing issues is on my top ten life inconveniences list. Trees are so pretty above ground, but below they are trouble makers. Fun slice, hope things dry up?

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Well, I guess you don’t want me to say “lucky you”, but since I’ve been there & I think I said more than Ah-h-h! I hope Roto-rooter raced to the rescue! Fun about your oldest!

  3. Wendi says:

    That is hilarious, I have to say. I think it’s the way you and Wes ended up just dealing with it as he laughed. The way you wrote about that was funny. Sure hope the Roto Rooter guy fixes it up quickly.

  4. Deb says:

    Love the description of stunned-panicked-I-don’t-know-what-to-do brain…been there so many times with a case of brain freeze. Hope the plumbing lines are flowing smoothly soon!

  5. Donna Smith says:

    I apologize. I would have been laughing, too. Actually, I was just laughing. Again, I apologize.

  6. Tam says:

    A true slice of life. We use to experience that when we lived in Ft. Wayne. Love trees, but it’s the roots that create the havoc. Good luck.

  7. I am going to remember to be grateful for my functioning plumbing tonight! Hope you got things straightened. That is not a fun surprise, but I have a feeling it made for a funny memory for you and Wes!

  8. Very funny! I like the “stunned-panicked-I-don’t-know-what-to-do brain” description! Did everything get fixed?

Leave a Reply

