SOLSC: Teenage Humor

Yesterday, I spent the majority of my day with teenagers at a youth function. My job: van driver (and encourager, listener, connector).ย  I was trying to sneak in little bits of time to write and read throughout the day on my iPad. To another mom, I was explaining how writing on a laptop has one advantage over the iPad: you can cut and paste with the laptop.

One of the quieter, never-seems-to-notice-me teens looked up and said, “Mrs. G, you just need to right tap the screen.”

Burrowing my brows, I thought for a moment. I actually acted the right clicking in my head, when my brain realized I was a sucker .

“Ha, ha. Nathan, I finally got it,” I replied as I rolled my eyes. He just smiled and went back to his iPod.

 

9 Responses to SOLSC: Teenage Humor

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Sounds like they like you enough to tease-what fun! I love those teenagers & their energy & humor. Being with them means high energy & a laugh a minute. Thanks for the story.

  2. Stacey says:

    Dontcha just love when others point out the obvious? (I am constantly learning new little things that I probably should’ve known about my iPhone each and every day.)

  3. elsie says:

    It’s amazing to discover that they are actually listening. Aren’t they surprising? Still a laptop is easier because you can feel the keys.

  4. I didn’t get this at first either. I had to read it twice to figure out that “right tap the screen” isn’t a thing you can do. It isn’t, right? Teens know too much these days.

  5. the other ruth says:

    I love this MH! Glad you had fun.

  6. Ruth says:

    If your iPad is anything like my iPhone, then you CAN cut and paste. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Just hold your finger on one of the words and it will become selected. There’s little dots on two corners of the selection so you can “stretch” it. Then you’ll get the CUT, COPY, PASTE menu above the selection. Just choose your poison. ๐Ÿ™‚

    LMK if it works,
    Ruth ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. MaryHelen says:

    Oh my goodness, it does work!!! I just tried it. Haha. The kid really didnt’t know about the feature. He was just joking with me. Thanks, Ruth. I still think in will stay with my laptop when possible. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Tam says:

    I have enough problems with my Kindle Fire and my blog!!! Is Ruth going to have an iPad class any time soon?

Leave a Reply

