SOLSC: Please, Can I Have a Book?

“Hi Mrs. Gensch. Can I borrow that book now?” Cam asked as we met in the hallway. I was getting ready for my next Title I group, but I couldn’t resist.

My mind began to trace through my memory. Book. Book, what book? My face must have had that look of searching, because Cam pointed to the book display.

“Remember? I want to borrow that book, The Buffalo Soldier.”

Cam had asked me a couple of times before when I was in a different area in the school. It was very much at the forefront of his mind, and I always seemed to be heading for a meeting or another group or something.  But not today. Today, I had a few moments (thank goodness for the five-minute transition time between groups). Unlocking the display, I retrieved the book for the awaiting hands.

“Oh thank you, Mrs. Gensch,” Cam said with a smile. It warmed my heart. I gave a little background behind the book as we walked to his class. “I am trusting you with my book. It’s special and I don’t normally loan this one out. I know you will take care of it though, because you have been wanting and waiting to read this book. Let me know what you think.”

A huge smile spread across my face as I hugged him a good-bye. He reflected one back.  A kid connected with a book, a book I could share.

I love connecting kids with great books. I love, love, love it! As a kid I struggled with reading (a post for another day), and a teacher hooked me. I’m now paying it forward and love every connection!

12 Responses to SOLSC: Please, Can I Have a Book?

  1. Stacey says:

    You probably just hooked Cam as well. Yea for wonderful literacy moments like this. 🙂

  2. pamelahodges says:

    A delightful narrative. Interesting how you started your story with the child’s voice. I also see your kind personality in the story. I would like to be in your class.

  3. Tam says:

    A great moment for you. Those make it all worthwhile. I have kids see me that are in high school and tell me they remember especially Where the Red Fern Grows or The Diary of Anne Frank. Good to know some things do sink in.

  4. Tara says:

    One of my favorite things to do as a teacher…I just love the look in their eyes when they’re so excited about a book because YOU book talked it.

  5. Laura Komos says:

    What a great moment to share between two readers! 🙂

  6. SueB says:

    You gave him two gifts, the book and your message that he is a reader!

  7. I am a connecting kids with books vampire like you! It is the energy on which I feed, for sure.

  8. Linda Baie says:

    And isn’t it terrific that he persisted. I wonder what caught his eye or if he knows a little about that group & wants to know more. What a nice exchange between the two of you. Clearly you’ve made a good connection Mary Helen. You go girl with that pay it forward!

  9. the other ruth says:

    You did a good thing MH–and I know it’s a thing you do almost daily! In fact, I wish I saw you every day, because I just know you’d be pressing books into my hands almost every day.

  10. Katie says:

    Ah…these are the moments that make it all worth while.

  11. elsie says:

    Books, do a body and mind good. So you you!

  12. Dana says:

    Stories of book connections always melt my heart. I smiled widely when I read, “I’m now paying it forward.” Fun to think about how your students may pay it forward some day.

Leave a Reply

