SOLSC: Kindergarten Snippets

Kindergarten – just the word makes me cock my head a little and smile.  Most of the time, they are cute, fun, and so energetic. There are moments though that my kindergarten teachers could be bald. You know what I mean?

My favorite part about kindergarteners is their matter-of-fact expressions. Here are two that I heard today. 🙂

One bright five-year-old, who has great phonetic spelling, said today, “I know how to spell my friend, Jacob’s, name.”

His teacher smiled and said, “How?”

“Jakup. Jake – up.”  🙂

*******

Another little boy, Tyler, can be very particular. When his mind is made up, he is right. (Do you have any of those kind of kids?)

During small group reading instruction, the teacher was introducing the word LIKES.

“See, Tyler. You already know this word, like,” she said covering up the letter S with her finger. “The letter S is added to make another word, LIKES.”

The little boy looked at the word, crossed his arms, and made a face. “What are they doing putting an S on the word LIKE? It’s LIKE, not that other word.”

His teacher nodded and replied,”Yes, it is LIKE, but in some sentences, like the ones were are reading today, it’s appropriate to read the word LIKES to make the sentence make sense.”

Tyler eyed her and said, “Nope. Not going to do it. You need to just kick that S off my word LIKE.” He proceeded to read the entire book leaving off the S. His teacher tried several times to interject the word LIKES, but Tyler was not going to believe it.

I wonder what Tyler is going to do when he reads the word LIKING.

9 Responses to SOLSC: Kindergarten Snippets

  1. the other ruth says:

    I think I love Tyler. 🙂
    Glad you shared this–K is also where i go when I need a pick me up. They never disappoint!

  2. Dana says:

    Oh Tyler…. that is hilarious!

  3. Tam says:

    From the mouths of babes–the best life has to offer!

  4. Karen says:

    I passed a group of kindergartners today with my taller-than-usual 5th graders. And, as they passed us, they were so excited they could barely stand it. They were all talking loudly about how they had found the pot of gold while looking for leprechauns, and it was chocolate. So darling! No inhibitions about being around the big kids when they had something that important to share. 🙂

  5. elsie says:

    Love these moments from kindergarten! Your final sentence may give the teacher nightmares. Ha! Ha!

  6. Linda Baie says:

    My daughter in Kdg insisted on spelling our name Baie as by-she thought it just saved time. (Our name is pronounced like bye). It took a while to convince her that words just didn’t work that way. Thanks for the laugh-they are darling.

  7. Robin says:

    As a kindergarten teacher, I have a soft spot for five-year-old logic. I love these little snippets! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Lori says:

    When they KNOW they are right it’s tough to change their minds. Hmmm, just thinking we don’t grow out of that.

  9. I love kindergarten stories! One of my favorite kid-isms when I taught elementary special ed students was a kinder named Tee. He was a ball of fire and cute as all get out. But he was about to be in my “bad” class because the teacher was tired of dealing with him.

    He came to my class one day and said, “Miss M, I gotta quit school. You know what ’em teachers think? You gotta do what they say all the time! School’s too hard for me, ’cause I really don’t want to do what ’em teachers say. They ‘spect me to not play! It’s work, work, work,” he finished, head low, shaking it back and forth with the horror of it all!! haha….

Leave a Reply

