SOLSC: Hawk

HAWK-

Today, while driving, I noticed a red-tailed hawk.

He was perched magnificent, like a king on the telephone wire.

Watching.

The green fields and bare-leafed woods seemed peaceful

like the calm before the storm.

Small creatures, scurrying, slithering about, unaware of the keen eye

searching for its next prey.

(This reminded me of a favorite book, Arrowhawk by Lola Shaefer, based on a real story.)

8 Responses to SOLSC: Hawk

  1. Tam says:

    Did you take this picture? I know you have the habit of getting out of your car to take a picture now and then. And you’re a poet, too. We look for hawks all the time. Never saw one this beautifully perched.

  2. the other ruth says:

    Very cool picture! I’m glad your slicing material presented itself so clearly today. 🙂

  3. elsie says:

    I love spotting the hawks in bare trees. Unfortunately I never can get a picture. I wonder about the scurrying and slithering creatures below. They are not safe.

  4. I am so happy I am not the only one who bird watches as they drive. I love that you noticed this with so much detail. I love that you let the hawk take you away, even if it was a brief moment. We noticed that the osprey have returned to the nesting platforms in the sound and it felt like old friends returning home. Thanks for sharing this moment.
    Diane

  5. Oh, that book is sooo cool. I had forgotten about it. This poem reminds me of one of my favorite songs: Before I Go by Jon Hiatt. It starts out, “Red-Tailed Hawk shooting down the canyon, put me on those wings he rides. I will be your true companion, when we reach the other side.”

    I love the picture you painted with your words!

  6. Katie says:

    I never spot them but my husband always does. Perhaps I need to learn to be more observant of the sky.

  7. Kelli Traber says:

    Not only are your powers of observation to be envied, but clearly, you have a way to describe. Breathtaking. You pack so much power into these few words.

Leave a Reply

