SOLSC: “Don’t You Think Someone Should Go?”

Our oldest is a senior with college fastly approaching. He is asked, I am asked, “What’s Wesley’s plans?” “Has he chosen a college yet?” “What does he want to major in?” Wes has the answers, well most of them, but honestly, the plans will not be finalized until May, toward the end of baseball season.

You see, Wes LOVES baseball. He has since he was young. To play in the major leagues, even for a brief time, is his dream. I know, I know, you say, “Ya, but how many baseball players actually make it?” I don’t know. What I do know is that Wes wants to play baseball in college and take it from there. I also know that I want to provide and support my son in his dreams. What college Wes goes to depends on playing for a baseball team.

A couple of weeks ago, a nearby college baseball coach called and asked Wes to tryout for their team. I really had not thought Wes would attend there. I guess I just envisioned him to be away. Tomorrow is the tryout. “Don’t you think someone should go with you?” I asked Wes that day. He shrugged. “I’m just going to pitch.”  (AKA, I’ll be fine.)

I spoke with my husband about it later. “Don’t you think someone should go with him?”

“I have to work,” was the reply. He felt Wes would be fine, maybe even wanting to be independent. This I frowned at. (I am his mom, you know.)

“Yeah, but don’t you think someone should go?” My question resonated. Wait. That someone means me.

Last night, after baseball practice, I asked Wes. “What’s the plan for Wednesday?” to which he then said he was meeting at eleven o’clock and pitch.

Today, we headed to an appointment and I had him trapped in the van for an hour. Lucky me. We began talking about tomorrow.

“Don’t you think someone should go?” I nudged.

“Why? I’m just going to throw,” was his matter-of-fact-confident-I-can-do-this reply.

“Yeah, but don’t you think someone should go?” This question seemed familiar.

“What are you going to do?” Wes replied.
“I don’t know. I probably will just be sitting there, watching.” (And praying and cheering silently and… learning to let go). “I just think someone should go just in case there are questions or I have questions. I could be there.” My mind was thinking about several synopsis, and the unknown had me wondering more than anything.

At this, Wes turned toward me, smiled, and said, “If it will make you feel better, you can come. I’m fine with that.”

I think my son figured out that his mom is trying to support and not be too pushy, be loving while realizing he’s becoming an adult. He’s figuring out that this mom needs to be there just because she has been there all the time.

I love you, Wes.

11 Responses to SOLSC: “Don’t You Think Someone Should Go?”

  1. You should definitely go and definitely slice about it 🙂

  2. elsie says:

    Wes is a smart boy, like his mama. I felt your conflict throughout this post. My favorite line: ” (I am his mom, you know.)” Good luck tomorrow, Wes! (and mom, 🙂 )

  3. Tara says:

    At this, Wes turned toward me, smiled, and said, “If it will make you feel better, you can come. I’m fine with that.”
    This was my favorite part – Wes understood, and you understood that he understood. Sometimes, that’s all a mom needs. Good luck, Wes!

  4. showgem says:

    I love that your son is old an enough to understand that you want to go and willing to have you come along for the ride. The journey kids have as they move on to college is scary, but I wouldn’t have missed it for anything.

  5. Tam says:

    I’m glad he caught on and invited you. I think you’re both trying to let go. Good luck, Wes.

  6. Ruth says:

    Mary Helen,
    Your craft in this little slice is exquisite. I know it’s something you spend a lot of time noticing and thinking about, and I want you to know I’m noticing it in your writing and it’s making me think about how I can craft my slices too.

    You’re little guy is growing up. Can’t wait to see what unfolds for him in the next few months.

    Hugs,
    Ruth
    PS — We get to hang out together tomorrow! Woohoo. 🙂

  7. blogpraylove says:

    Hope all goes well for Wes 🙂 “And praying and cheering silently and… learning to let go” was my favorite line! Thank you for sharing.

  8. the other ruth says:

    Can I just copy/paste what Ruth said in her comment?
    As I was reading, my thoughts were, “gosh, this is well crafted.”
    Can’t wait to see you!

  9. Steph McCabe says:

    Mary Helen,

    This — the letting go–, to me, is the hardest part of motherhood…and if ANYBODY had had the GUTS to tell me, I’d have boiled & eaten Jake LOOOOOOOOOONG ago!!! haha….

    I wish you and your son much luck as he gets closer to graduation. And my thoughts are with you — it’s a very difficult time.

    😉

    P.S. Thanks for your kind words the other day…made me cry (but what doesn’t these days??!)

  10. Katie says:

    Good for you for supporting his plans. A good mom knows that a child’s dreams are priceless.

  11. girlgriot says:

    This is so lovely. I like the way you told the story, love your son’s casual, “I’m just going to pitch,” love the way you brought us into your head in each exchange.

    I have no kids, but I am the completely doting aunt to a niece and nephew who are quickly growing up. My nephew, like Wes, is an athlete and about to head to college. Watching him work through what has turned out to be a pretty trying scouting-recruiting-signing process has squeezed my heart and made me wish he was still the five-year-old I can’t help but see him as.

    Good luck to Wes … and to you. I hope the pitching went wonderfully well!

Leave a Reply

