SOLSC: Our Daughter is So Beautiful

Our daughter is so beautiful,” my mom said to my dad on the day my sister was born. Every part of her 9 lb. 13 oz., 21 inch long little self was perfect. Her dark hair made her blue eyes sparkle. I was eight. I had practiced diapering my dolls, cradling them to pretend sleep. I was ready to be a big sister. I couldn’t wait. I had even chosen her name – Elizabeth.  My smile was proud!

Elizabeth was beautiful!

Within twenty-four hours, the doctors recognized something was not quite right. Her little heart beat was erratic and she struggled with breathing.  In 1975, ultrasounds were not prevalent. No warnings were given prior to her birth. No warnings that my sister had a two-chambered, deformed heart. No warnings that my mother’s heart would be broken two days later!

Twenty-two years later, I delivered my second child, a beautiful little girl. She had a head-full of dark hair and blue eyes that sparkled. She weighed 10 lbs. even at 21 inches long. My mom cradled her in her arms with the sweetest smile ever. My dad stopped in his tracks as he whispered to my husband, “She looks exactly like our Elizabeth.”

My mother’s heart was delighted,  filled with a  healing-happiness.  I chose my daughter’s name – Elizabeth.  She’s beautiful, fulfilling, and knows where her name originated.

10 Responses to SOLSC: Our Daughter is So Beautiful

  1. Simply beautiful! My own infant son died 9 years ago. I know the pain yet the healing that can come as well.

  2. Oh what a beautiful post! The picture is so meaningful, especially accompanied by your story. I love the way you told both stories, in parallel form.

  3. Wendi says:

    It’s beautiful how the tragic story of your sister turned into a blessing 22 years later. I’m sure she’ll wear her name with honor.

  4. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    The goosebumps won’t go away! What an awesome story! Heart breaking with tears and uplifting with joy all wrapped up in one!

  5. Tam says:

    This is a beautiful story, and I’m glad you decided to post it. It should be written somewhere. Wonderful picture of Elizabeth. What a special name!

  6. Tammy says:

    You touched me twice with your story. I am crying as I’m typing. This is a story from the heart, please share what you wrote with your parents. Elizabeth has a very speacial name, special grandparents and a special mother.

  7. Linda Baie says:

    What a sweet story, Mary Helen. Elizabeth Joy is a beautiful name, one to cherish and give, which you did. How great. Your daughter is beautiful, like the earlier Elizabeth. I have/had a little brother born who lived only a few days, a long time ago. We still talk about him & what if’s abound. It seems to keep him with us a little while, sort of like you have your own Elizabeth.

  8. MH, what a beautiful post. Brought tears to my eyes. Your Elizabeth is so cute. She looks proud to share her name.

  9. the other ruth says:

    MH, you told it just right. Beautifully and simply–which gives it great power. Hugs to you. This one….this one is a keeper.

  10. djts says:

    Beautifully done. I was glad to hear that you shared it with your mom.

Leave a Reply

