SOLSC: Reflections

SOLSC has been a wonderful experience of learning with others. My notebook is filled with entry ideas gained from you and noted stories I want to remember. I have encouraged new slicers, formed connections, and strengthened ones I’ve known before.

My belief in myself as a writer has increased! I have taken risks in playing with words and have been pleasantly surprised with people’s comments. Thank you. My writing is developing and revising is becoming more of a delight rather than a challenge. It has been fun commenting, encouraging as I have been encouraged. Reading, commenting, and growing with you has been a joy!

As evidence of my growth, I played with words this morning, relaxing in the moment as I tried to do what was modeled for me. You see, your posts are modeled craft for me to savor, learn, and try. Today, I would like to honor Elsie at Elsie Tries Writing and the way her post yesterday inspired me to try something new.  Elsie “squeezed a poem from a single word“, so I tried it with the word ‘Reflections’ on this last day of the SOLSC. Blessings to you all as you learn, connect, and grow as writers. Slice on!

REFLECTIONS

Core of SOLSC

Reflect on letters seen

Lists of notes,

Collections.

Fills inner tier!

Effect?

INFECTIOUS 🙂

Slice on!

13 Responses to SOLSC: Reflections

  1. It has been an amazing month of writing!
    So happy to be connected with you now, Laura

  2. elsie says:

    How awesome is this! I have a hard time believing you didn’t delight in writing words. You do it so well!
    FYI – I used your van personification in a lesson on voice in fifth grade. It was great! At first they thought it was a babysitter (I took out the sentence that said I am the van at the beginning). Then they had to look deeper to make sense of the other clues. It was great for voice and inference. Thank you!!!

  3. Dana says:

    I delighted in the fact that the word “INFECTIOUS” was squeezed out.

  4. Jama says:

    Good one!

  5. grade4wizard says:

    This “squeezed” poem makes great evidence that you are a thoughtful yet playful writer.
    Terje

  6. Tam says:

    Good job on the poem. It certainly has been a journey–a very good journey.

  7. the other ruth says:

    Fun! I’m glad you are enjoying playing with words and getting more comfortable and confident in your writing skin. Bravo, MH!

  8. Tammy says:

    I have enjoyed reading all your slices this month. It has been fun seeing your writng grow. I also love the VAN slice best!

  9. Your found poem, which Elsie said was NOT easy, is spectacular!! I am so glad to have spent another month getting to know you better through your words, friend!

  10. Linda Baie says:

    Okay, Mary Helen, you’ve got me. Isn’t it amazing when one starts, how many words come (can be squeezed) from a single word? Your poem is marvelous! And thank you for your grateful post-lovely. And thank you for your support so often on my posts. I appreciate the thoughtfulness. Happy slicing-see you Tuesday!

  11. mrssurridge says:

    Another reason to want for more time in the day: to spend more time playing with words. Lovely reflection. Thanks for your comments during the last month. My students were thrilled each time! You are one of the reasons so many of them continued to write throughout the entire challenge!

  12. Mary Helen, lovely reflections of your month with SOLSC. Sounds like there were many wonderful moments and benefits for you. You poem was a beautiful tribute to the month. Enjoyed your posts.

  13. Tara says:

    Thank you, Mary Helen, for always giving me something to think upon with your slices! Hope to see you on Tuesdays.

Leave a Reply

