SOL: Noticing

Feel rushed? I do almost every day. Sometimes I’m rushed in the morning to get ready, especially if I linger over my coffee. Sometimes I’m rushed to get copies in the morning prior to the bell ringing.  Sometimes I’m rushed to get the kids to school prior and make it to work on time.

But in the rushed moments, I’m learning to notice.

Seeing my daughter allows me a moment to notice her beautiful hair and comment. Waiting on the copy machine allows me to notice a fellow teacher I rarely see. Morning drives allow me to notice the birds swarming near the trees.

Noticing? It’s not easy. But if I’m not noticing and listening, I may miss the beauty and comforts around me.

What have you noticed today?

7 Responses to SOL: Noticing

  1. I’ve been writing about slowing down, Mary Helen, a companion to noticing I think. Writing on my blog has put me into the habit of noticing, but I still need to do more. I like the examples you gave, all taking the little moments to really “see”. Thanks.

  2. Deb Day says:

    I agree with Linda. Noticing is important. I like that you gave us some great ways to slow down and notice. We all spend so much time rushing to get somewhere, rushing to get something done, that we forget to take time to notice the little things that make life worth living…

  3. Ah, noticing. You are right, we rarely have time for it, but it can easily be embedded into our daily routines because there are always moments where we are forced to slow down. So, why not take notice? Beautiful slice, smart reminder.

  4. elsie says:

    I love how you are noticing things in spite of the rushing. It’s the small bits we. Notice that may make a difference later.

  5. I notice how much I actually live while running around so much. When you put it in this perspective, I am able to better appreciate my reflective nature a bit more. I enjoyed this post!

  6. Tam says:

    Your post is almost a poem by the way you set it up. It makes one want to stop in between the thoughts/paragraphs. Noticings are the little things, too. It’s how we survive. Thanks for sharing your “slowing down.”

  7. Tara says:

    So true…I need to remember to do this more often!

Leave a Reply

