SOL: Laughs that Filled the Room

“Let’s have coffee,” I suggested to some ladies at church. I was like a little school girl inside all day today. Coffee at a local coffee shop at 7 p.m. I couldn’t wait!!

I have been missing time with female companionship. As a working mom, I often put myself last. I carpool my kids to school and sport events, friends’ homes and social outings. I shuffle through laundry and groceries, cleaning and cooking. I savor the quiet moments at home and snatch time to talk with my husband.

But time with friends … is infrequent.

Five of us sat around a table sharing stories – stories from our past that would crack us up; embarrassing moments shared for the first time. My laughter rang throughout the room. I had to keep covering my mouth to stifle the oh-my-goodness-this-feels-great laughter. Those who know me can attest that my laughs can fill the room (and down the hall). A couple of those slipped out tonight and the four ladies around me added their own. We were sitting at a college bookstore coffee shop enjoying snippets of our days, not caring about those around us.

After one grand ripple of laughter, I noticed three college students get up and leave. Then a few moments later, I noticed another couple leave. For a split second I thought, “Oh, I must calm down. I’m being loud.” The joy in my soul was too exuberant. We talked on. Then we noticed the coffee counter light being turned off. Another story was shared followed by laughter. I peeked around. No one was left at the tables nearby.

At that moment an employee passed by. “Excuse me, what time do you close?”

She smiled. “We closed at 8 p.m. but you sounded like you were having a good time.” Looking at each other, we laughed again. It was 8:20 p.m. Our laughter together hadn’t chased the customers away; it had been rejuvenating!

2 Responses to SOL: Laughs that Filled the Room

  1. A friend and I meet early for breakfast once in a while. It is so much fun to visit & visit. I loved your description Mary Helen, and that you had so much fun.

  2. You gave me my chuckle for the day. Haven’t heard from you in a while, so thought I’d stop by. This story is a real keeper. Love it when you’re having so much fun you lose all sense of time!

Leave a Reply

