SOLC: Wrestling Tournament

sols_6Wrestling Tournament
Watching this sport wrenches my insides. It’s hard. My husband loves this game but has to work. It’s my turn. I love my son, support him, and go because I need to. It’s important.

Middle school – 35 miles away
Saturday – ALL day
TWELVE teams
Four mats
Three 1 minute periods
-some short
-some long, especially during a beat-down.
200 wrestlers
500 spectators
whistles, towel-throws, coaches’ bellowing voices
Fan shirt on
Cooler – snacks, water, lunch
bleachers – wooden, hard
-top spot for back support 🙂

“You won’t hear me but know that I’m cheering.”
A smile and a nod.
“Be careful. Don’t shoot down too far. Fight hard. I’m not sure what else to say. Dad’s not here.”
Smile.
“Love you, Mom!”
Now I smile.
“I’m proud of you!”
* * * * *
Tim heads to the mat. For a quick moment, he glances up and catches my eye.
I signal the ‘be mentally tough’ sign. He nods.
It begins.

P.S. I wrote this slice during the beginnings of the tourney this morning. I couldn’t believe the amount of people who were there. Tim, placed fourth, after defeating a tough opponent. I had just come off the bleachers when he rounded the hall corner, looking for me, huge smile on his face. “I did it!” Sweaty, he wrapped me up in a hug and squeezed. I guess being there was all that mattered. 🙂

9 Responses to SOLC: Wrestling Tournament

  1. Carol Wilcox says:

    Ahhh, the things we do for love! My boys are almost grown and I so, so, so miss these times. We never wrestled but we did do football, basketball, and track. I’ve sat on many of those hard wooden bleachers in noisy gyms! Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

  2. Tam says:

    Love this minute by minute post. Yes, being there–so simple, but so large.

  3. elsie says:

    A mother’s love, pure and simple. Congratulations Tim! That is a tough sport.

  4. Rachel Z says:

    Wrestling is big where I teach and after many years, I think I’m starting to get it. Good for you for sticking out, Mom!

  5. MH, I really love what the numbers added to this. Of course, I also was excited to read the PS–hooray!

  6. Whenever students ask me to attend wrestling meets, I cringe. I make them promise there won’t be blood-a promise that is usually broken. Being there does matter though. Congrats to You and Tim!

  7. Good job Mom and your son wanted, needed and was happy you were there. Motherhood sweated through with love.

  8. Linda Baie says:

    It’s hard to watch our kids do just about anything, but especially physical things I guess. It’s really nice that you go, hug, yell, support. Good Mom time with your son is what counts!

  9. Diana Martin says:

    Wrestling is so intense–that one-to-one struggle and you can’t hide. I so feel the same way watching my son. Your words, as always, capture that emotional push-pull that parents feel. Doesn’t it blow you away sometimes how brave your own kids are?

Leave a Reply

