SOLC: March is my New Year’s Eve

sols_6

Join in the Slice of Life Challenge at Two Writing Teachers

I love March! It’s renewal time. Most people make New Year’s resolutions. That day is March 1st for me. Renewal means to start new again – a fresh start. Green is springing, birds are chirping, and the sun is shining. It’s time to keep going!

My reflection began when I read Diana from One Literacy Coach. Her truth of “This post took me months to write” prompted a spontaneous nod of understanding from me. I’ve missed her voice, but I totally understand.

I’ve missed my voice too. It has not been there. Notes are in various notebooks. Books have been read. Thoughts have been tucked away in my mental file. Like Diana, I’ve attributed my job change as effecting my writing. Changing from a writing coach to a Title I Reading Interventionist and Coordinator supervising four assistants and monitoring numerous children’s reading progress shifted my focus. Data and RtI meetings bombard my life, replacing my first love of reading books to children. I love to hook kids. I love to connect great reads with aspiring minds and show them the possibilities of writing like the author. I love inspiring teachers to teach with quality, rich texts. This job shift has effected me and my writing life.

This reflection prompted five written slices yesterday. (I know. I’ll still be looking at each day, but when an idea or memory hits, I’m going to write.) I found seventeen books to blog (Can you believe it! Where have I been?) and wrote five more reviews. (Remember – I was sitting on wooden bleachers for seven hours at the wrestling match yesterday. I had to do something to keep my stomach from knotting.)

Renewal. March. SOLC. This is my time (and yours) to begin again capturing my mind-full-of-thoughts to play with words and create.

9 Responses to SOLC: March is my New Year’s Eve

  1. A March Renaissance! Once you open those floodgates, the ideas just seem to burst forth, don’t they? My problem is following them through to see them to fruition. It sounds like those wooden bleachers served you (and your son) well!

  2. elsie says:

    I look forward to these posts you have mentioned. A job shift does change the focus. Happy New Year!

  3. thereadingzone says:

    I love this! I need that inspiration to hit me, too. I am so backed up on my blog. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. macrush53 says:

    Renewal…it’s spring and we are renewed. Don’t you love when the ideas to write about happen?

  5. Kristen says:

    The timing of this challenge is perfect for teachers. March does seem to be a time of new beginnings, so yes, Happy New Year, Happy March, Happy Writing.

  6. Theresa says:

    Hooray for March! Bring on the writing. Looking forward to reading more of your reflections.

  7. Wow – so much to say and share! I can’t wait! I’d love to hear more about your new position and sad to say those RtI and data meetings. (Such a nerd, right? I’m always wanting to learn and improve.) But I’d love to share reading intervention ideas! I have a colleague and friend who is also slicing who needs to read this too — she’s a Title I teacher as well who loves to hook kids with books and is finding it difficult to do when implementing a Tier 3 intervention.

    Enjoy this renewal! Write on!

  8. Tam says:

    So little time, so much to do. March does bring new enlightenment. Happy New Year!

  9. Happy New (Writing) Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

