SOLC: The Funny Things Kids Say – LOL!

sols_6Treasures of the day – hearing a kid say something funny. Here are two from today:

During interactive writing group, Lil, a first grader, was writing the sentence we had just practiced. She looked up in the middle of writing a word and said, “Do you know one of Michael Jackson’s moves is?”

What I wanted to say was, “Where did that idea come from? We are writing about Spring. Does Michael Jackson have some correlation with the season?” Instead I replied with an inquiring look, “What?”

“He dances,” did a little shoulder move with a smile,  and on she went to writing the rest of her word. Really? He dances.

*              *              *             *            *              *

At the end of the day, waiting in the car pick-up line, Parker, another first grader, announced, “Hey, Mrs. Gensch, you are invited to my birthday party.”

“I am?” I replied.

“Yep. Guess how old I am?” smiling with anticipation.

“17,” my serious reply came.

“Nope. I’m 8! And I definitely know one thing?” Parker continued.

“What’s that?” my curiosity was ready for something about his party or a gift he got.

“I definitely have to start wearing deodorant.” His serious look and slight nod caused my coworker to turn around, holding back a smile. Me – I laughed, aloud, echoing down the hall. I didn’t want to hurt his feelings; I just couldn’t hold the chuckle in.

“I’m serious, Mrs. Gensch. I stink and I have to wear deodorant,” Parker smiled.

I hugged him. “Parker, good to know.”

At least he didn’t say he had to shave.

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to SOLC: The Funny Things Kids Say – LOL!

  1. Tammy says:

    HA ha I love first grade!

  2. blkdrama says:

    I love learning about how younger kids think and learn. Wonderful responses…

  3. elsie says:

    I love it when you catch the funnies the kids say.

  4. Dina says:

    Out of the mouths of babes. I for sure got a laugh out of these. haha!

  5. Tam says:

    This the best part of little kids–innocent and true.

  6. Ruth Ayres says:

    You know, you only catch the funnies when you are willing to listen. You are a good listener. Kids know it. So do adults.

  7. Stacy says:

    haha, this is fantastic.

  8. I love this! Thank you for sharing such a light-hearted slice today. I’ve been having a bit of a struggle and this tipped me into the positive.

  9. Cathy says:

    Oh the connections they make and don’t make…thanks for the smiles!

  10. Oh man….I love stories like these. Little kids are too funny. Thanks for capturing these words.

  11. Hilarious! I bet his mom is glad that he notices the smell and intends to do something about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

